Chicken & Dumplings

Happy Wednesday to you all!  Wow it has been a super busy week for me.  I didn’t have time to put up Tuesday’s post, I barely have time to do a post for tonight!

Peas and Crayons

But I couldn’t let What I Ate Wednesday go by.  So I am combining yesterday and today’s post for a double take 🙂

 112010 088

112010 255112010 186

blog photos 836 072011 334

  072011 015

072011 289 

Breakfast – oat cakes w/ banana slices & peanut butter

Snacks – yogurt, green smoothie (not so good packed as it is fresh), pecans & raisins before workout

Lunch – Salad

Dinner – left over chicken and dumplings

Bedtime Snack – peppermint hot cocoa

******************

Nothing says comfort to me than a huge pot of chicken and dumplings.  There is just something about the dish, it just feels “like home”.  I can remember rushing over to my grandmother’s house when I was a very young girl to help her make a pot of chicken & dumplings for Sunday lunch.  Boy was it the best!

While grandmother has been gone from us for years now, we can still hold on to wonderful memories when we cook her favorite dishes the way she use to cook them.  Funny thing is that even following her directions it never tastes the same as grandmother’s use to.  She didn’t use a recipe, which means that we really do not use one either, but I have done my best to lay down some measurements for you.  This is comfort food at it’s best 🙂

So here is my grandmother’s wonderful recipe, I hope that you decided to try it out!!

072011 017

Chicken and Dumplings

  • 1/2 of a whole chicken (yeah it’s scaled down for my family, you can use the whole chicken) 
  • salt and pepper to cover chicken
  • handful of “holy trinity” season blend (frozen onion, pepper, celery blend / or use fresh)
  • 1T each dried parsley & thyme (can use fresh)
  • enough salt & pepper to sprinkle over the chicken pieces
  • water (about 2 quarts / 4 quarts if using a whole chicken)

Dumplings

  • 2 cups unbleached all purpose flour (whole wheat flour would work as well) 
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup whole milk

Additional ingredients

  • splash of milk
  • 2-3T butter (the real stuff people)
  • additional salt/pepper if needed
  1. Place the chicken into a large boiling pot. Add remaining ingredients & water. Make sure the chicken is covered with water. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to simmering. Throughout cooking skim away any foam that forms in your pot. Simmer for 1-1/2 hours until chicken is done and tender. Remove the chicken from the broth and allow to cool.
  2. Debone the chicken once it is cool enough to handle. While deboning the chicken discard the undesirable parts (skin, bones, etc). Cut deboned chicken into bite sized pieces.
  3. Mix your flour, salt, egg, butter and milk in a stand mixer. If you don’t have a stand mixer, a mixing bowl and hand mixer will do the job. Continue to mix until a ball forms.
  4. Roll out the dough to about 1/8 inch on a cutting board. Use a sharp knife or pizza cutter to cut your dough into bite size pieces. I usually form them in the shape of rectangular pieces (or you can do like me when you need a shortcut and by frozen dumplings – yes they make those – but you can’t get whole wheat in frozen) 
  5. Bring the chicken broth to a boil. Add in a splash of milk and the butter.  Drop dumplings into boiling broth, ensuring that they submerge. The butter helps to keep the dumplings from sticking to each other.  Reduce heat to medium-low and cook for 8 to 10 minutes.  Place chicken back into the pot and heat through.

Now enjoy this with a big glass of sweet tea.  Yes I said sweet tea, because this southern dish is well deserving of a southern drink! 

072011 016

This was my plan for my birthday dinner Sunday until we had the phone call to watch the Saints game with our friends.  They were cooking seafood gumbo, and invited us over to eat with them.  By this point I had already started to cook the chicken/broth.  We decided to join our friends and have chicken and dumplings for dinner on Monday night.  I normally wouldn’t have this dish unless it was a special occasion, but we didn’t get to enjoy it for my birthday.  I am sure that after the weekend and last night’s meals, I am in desperate need of vegetables and exercise….lol!!

11 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, family, lunch, Uncategorized, WIAW

11 responses to “Chicken & Dumplings

  1. MMMM…I LOVE chicken and dumplings! So sweet of you to share your grandmother’s recipe!

  2. I trust anything by anyone’s grandmother. Hope life slows down for you soon 🙂

  3. You’re definitely into fall food! As the weather gets cooler, I always crave warm foods – both physically warm and emotionally warming. Nothing like a loved one’s signature recipe to make you feel good.

  4. Sam

    i just read another post about chicken and dumplings. i think it’s a sign! must make soon 🙂

  5. Loving all your eats, especially your breakfast! 🙂

  6. Grandmothers recipes are the best! Those dumplings look so creamy and delicious! I hate to say this but I have never had dumplings!

  7. Oh that coco would sure make sickie Traci feel better, looks so yummy! Wish I could cook, just sayin’! 🙂

Leave a Reply

