Fantastic voyage

“Come along and ride on a, fantastic voyage. Slide slide slippity-slide. Hittin switches on the block in a sixty-five”

Don’t ask me what a block it.  Or what sixty-five I am referring to for that matter.  Somehow I feel that Coolio was/is so much “cooler” than me when he sings this!

This is , however, the theme song of my life at the moment.  I am on a voyage.  It is a slippity-slide, but it is so not fantastic!  In case you haven’t noticed I have been a little MIA lately.  Yeah I missed you too.  Work has been super busy lately.  Which always happens the few weeks leading up to a holiday break.  Why?  I have no idea, that’s just how the school system rolls.  Maybe it would be more exciting if the system was rolling in a sixty-five with switches???

Soooo not only have I been uber busy with tons of things, but my youngest decided to be sick this morning.  Yeah – the nerve.  So I am now sitting on my couch thinking of all the things that I have left to do in the next four days, all of the things that I am not getting done today, and how hectic it will be for me tomorrow when I have to squeeze two days of work into one day!

The kicker – he is now sitting, playing games, and acting totally fine.  It doesn’t matter that I had three teachers helping me with him this morning because things weren’t going to well with his tummy, he is better now, which means he should be able to return to school right?  Um no!  He has to be home for a full 24 hours.  Which means he will need to stay home tomorrow.  Which means that if I can’t find a sitter I have to stay home with him.  Which means I will be two days behind, and will have to do three days worth of work on Wednesday????

Do you see where this is going – it surely is a slide.  One that is going too fast, too steep, and never ending!!

But I have something to put a smile on my face 🙂

072011 020 

Build you own burrito bowls.  I love burrito bowls.  Since I have to read about all these people that get to enjoy them at Chipotle, I don’t have a Chipotle near me, I decided to make my own.  It was a big hit in my house.  The funny thing is that we have always made these and just called it taco salad…lol!

  • lettuce
  • seasoned ground beef
  • pinto beans
  • corn
  • crushed tortilla chips
  • diced tomato
  • olives
  • diced avocado
  • shredded cheese
  • sour cream
  • salsa

So yummy and fulfilling.  I have leftovers.  Which means I get to eat this for lunch today!

072011 019

Now that is worth sliding for 🙂 

8 Comments

Filed under DINNER, family, lunch, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Fantastic voyage

  1. Amanda

    I will totally be making these! Oh and don’t forget to check back later for the recipe I promised you! I hope Kohl feels better soon. Maybe it’s just a little bug that had to run its course. Tell Noah and Kohl that nanny says hello and I love them.

  2. When you said voyage, I thought you were blogging from a cruise. But sounds like quite the opposite. Sorry you’re little one is sick. Don’t stress, but take it one minute at a time 🙂

    P.S. What ever happened to Coolio?!

  3. Sorry your little guy is better. Oh wait, that doesn’t sound right. Ha! No, seriously, I don’t have kids but I do know how much it sucks to have to take a day off when the work will just pile up. And November and February are by far the hardest months of school. Maybe just take the next few days to breathe – and to preschedule blog posts. 😉

  4. fairyhealthylife

    Yes, I missed you!! Hopefully you won’t be too behind with work.

    Don’t worry, I don’t have a Chipotle near me either 😦

Leave a Reply

