What’s in a title???

Have you ever had one of those days where you just do not know what the heck to title your blog post?  You think and think.  Most sites will recommend that you use something catchy. 

Well that didn’t work yesterday.  I do not think it is going to work today.  Are any of you in a “catchy” mood???? 

This made me think, what is in a title?  Will people want one that is straight and to the point?….

Baked Oatmeal????

new camera 150

Will people want one that is creative? …..

Yeah um if you figure out how to make baked oatmeal creative….let me know, mmmkay!

How about a title that you google?…..

Blockbuster????

Yeah for some reason if you google “blog title for baked oatmeal” you get a bunch of blockbuster links????  What does blockbuster have to do with baked oatmeal?  I am not sure about you but I am not into the whole oatmeal with a movie thing!

BUT you have probably figured out by now that today’s post is going to be about baked oatmeal.  Which means my title was a little misleading….ya like that??

 new camera 148

Now I love my oatmeal.  I usually eat oatmeal in some form nearly every morning, but I have to admit that I am mostly a creature of habit.  Which means that most mornings I stick with my creaminess in a bowl.  I decided last week to change things up a bit.  It is a breakfast that you can start on the night before.  Who doesn’t like that?  Then it only requires mixing ingredients, placing in the oven, and letting it cook away while you dress. 

I am addicted.  I am sure I will eat baked oatmeal several times a week for many weeks to come.  Then I will retire it for a while.  Only to return to it later on in the year and claim another addiction.   

That is usually the cycle right?  Addicted, clean, addicted, clean, addicted…..seems to me that oatmeal anonymous is not working so well!

 new camera 149 

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • dash cinnamon
  • ground flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • dash of vanilla
  • few drops of stevia
  1. Mix together the dry ingredients the night before in a small bowl.  Combine the wet ingredients in a bowl and place in the refrigerator.
  2. The next morning pre-heat the oven to 350*.  Mix all ingredients together well.  Pour the mixture into a greased small baking dish.  Bake for about 40 minutes.

Now for the important part.  You can mix in any fruit you like, nuts, whatever.  I used dried cranberries.  You can also omit the egg and use a replacement if you want.  I like the egg for the added protein.  Speaking of protein, got some powder?  Go ahead and throw that in as well. 

Now cover you baked oatmeal with some form of  nut butter.  Maple syrup or honey will do if you do not have a nut butter.  Oh and if you do not have a nut butter, then you can not be my friend until you buy some.  So go ahead, run to the store now…..okay on second thought do not run, drive.  Unless you live next to the store, then you can run.

I used pecan butter for mine.  I am addicted to it as well.  I know I have a lot of addictions, what can I say……

Hello my name is Helen Naturally and I am an addict.

new camera 151

Warm, comforting, tasty,…….hey that’s enough – we are making a list of attributes for the oatmeal not a man.  Although that is a darn good man list!

Let’s add quick and easy to that list mmkay.  Just to avoid any confusion!

Now if you will excuse me I have an OA meeting to attend………

7 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, Uncategorized

7 responses to “What’s in a title???

  1. For some reason, this sounds amazing to me right now.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  2. This sounds SO good! I actually had OATMEAL for breakfast today, which actually never happens. (Weird, I know. Everyone else seems to eat it at least once a day!) And it was good. I topped it with almond butter 🙂

    This sounds amazing!

  3. I’ve been so over oatmeal lately. I don’t know why but it’s just not appealing right now. Baked oatmeal sounds like a great alternative though!

  4. I like baked oatmeal, but it just doesn’t seem as filling as the creamy stuff in a bowl. I know that that’s a bit silly…I mean, it has the same ingredients…but I guess it’s a mental thing.

Leave a Reply

