Nuts about Nuts

The hunger games are continuing over here in the Helen, Naturally household!  We are in full force.  We now have some home made cookies from the neighbors to go along with the chocolate chip ones…….

It’s a good thing calories do not count at Christmas!

new camera 171

Last night’s adventures sent us into a tail spin.  Complete with some fast food consumption after spending way too much time in a certain store to see a certain someone…….

It’s a good thing calories do not count at Christmas!

new camera 174

Oh and let’s not forget the hot chocolate and the gingerbread latte creamer that had to be purchased while out shopping the other day…..

It’s a good thing calories do not count at Christmas!

Then today I pulled out the monstrous bag of pecans that I had sitting in my freezer.  It is just a gallon sized bag.  It is just one of three gallon sized bags I have.  I am a lucky girl 🙂

 new camera 172  

I love pecans.  They are easily my favorite nut.  Almonds run a close second, but pecans will always have my heart.  So today’s kitchen adventures had to be centered around those nuts!!

Praline Pecans

  • 1.5c sugar
  • 3/4c brown sugar
  • 1/2c butter
  • 1/2c milk
  • 2T corn syrup
  • 5c toasted pecan halves
  1. Stir the first 5 ingredients in a 3-quart saucepan
  2. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constantly.
  3. Boil (soft boil) for 7-8 minutes while stirring constantly until a candy thermometer registers 235-240 degrees.
  4. Remove from heat and vigorously stir in pecans.  Spoon mixture onto wax paper in an even layer.  Let stand for 20 minutes or until firm.
  5. Break the praline coated pecans into pieces.

new camera 173

At this point I only have one thing to say…….

It’s a good thing calories do not count at Christmas!!

10 Comments

Filed under baking, DESSERT, Uncategorized

10 responses to “Nuts about Nuts

  1. Sam

    good thing!!! and jeans never get tight at christmas…

  2. Ha ha, totally agree. Calories do not count at Christmas. Or on your birthday! I’m not so sure about pecans. I used to think I HATED walnuts and pecans, but not I kind of like walnuts and not going to lie, I was eating handfuls of pecans the other night. Who am I?!

  3. Aaaaah…I love candied pecans. I’ve never made them myself, but I always jump with giddy joy when someone gives me some. Calories don’t count at Christmas…and Christmas lasts from Dec 15th to Jan 2nd. Ha!

  4. fairyhealthylife

    I am going to make these as a treat (along with other sweets) for christmas dinner, so I won’t eat them all!! Pecans are the best!

  5. Calories don’t count at christmas???? You are my most favourite person of the season now 🙂 🙂 🙂
    I’m loving your nuts (how wrong does that sound?) I usually only eat them around this time of year and now calories don’t count i’ll be eating more 🙂
    Ps: soooo happy to be back!

Leave a Reply

