Resolutions

according to the web one of the definitions of resolution is a resolve or determination.  to make a firm resolution to do something.

So I have to ask myself – why do we make resolutions on New Year’s?  Shouldn’t we make resolutions throughout our year?  I mean if you are determined to do something it shouldn’t necessarily be only resolved on New Year’s day, and if that is the tradition of the holiday, why do we always pick things that we usually aren’t so determined to do??

I myself do not like to make resolutions.  I like to make goals.  That way they are specific, something I really want and hopefully will accomplish.  Before I talk about this year’s goals, let me take a step back to last year’s goals.

  1. designate 1 night per week for family time w/ boys, 1 night per month to date night, and 1 night per month to girl’s night.
  2. continue on clean eating/healthy living journey
  3. concentrate on quality of blog vs. quantity
  4. save money
  5. yoga
  6. read more books
  7. purchase new furniture & finish kitchen decor
  8. run at least 2 5k’s
  9. incorporate weights into workouts at least 3x per week

So how did I do?  Numbers 2,3,6 were completed, part of 7 done (still have to do kitchen decor), and part of 1 (always family time, date night not every month, and girl’s night portion total fail), and unless I am in a workout slump (which has happened several times throughout the year) I did do 9.

Not bad if I say so myself.  Especially considering that I had 9 goals!!  So this year I will narrow it down some.  Here we go…..

  1. More “me time” (this could be girl’s night, spa, shopping, etc.)
  2. save money
  3. finish house decor (multiple rooms to work on)
  4. run a 5k
  5. yoga

Now some of you may think that I am nuts for listing a few of the same goals down, but I say keep them until you achieve them 🙂

  new camera 138  

Now that I have bored you to death with all of the resolution talk, I will share a recipe with you!  Keep in mind that this is a Christmas recipe.  Or actually a Christmas leftover ingredients recipe.  Hopefully some of you may be able to use this.  If not then at least the pictures are pretty, and you can adjust it as needed.

new camera 141

Nog french toast w/ candy toppings (inspired by Lauren @ Lawfully Wedded Wife)

  • 1/2c silk soy nog
  • 1/4c liquid creamer
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 1T flour
  • 1/4t baking powder
  • 3 slices of bread

Combine first six ingredients in a pie plate.  Place the bread slices in to soak up mixture, flip so both sides get soaked.  Preheat griddle and cook bread slices until desired doneness. 

new camera 140

Top with shredded coconut, cranberries, powdered sugar, and a drizzle of honey.

new camera 139

Then enjoy every last bite of it!  That is an order!!

new camera 137

You may also want to share with someone that you need to..ahem..convince to do something.  You could call it a compromise if you will.  You know what I am talking about, when you share a delicious breakfast with someone it is easier to get them to give you your way.  At least that is what I tell myself, which is why I must decide on dinner to I can….ahem….convince the hubster that we really do need to paint the kitchen.  Again.  Even if it was only two years ago that we painted it…..

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, family, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Resolutions

  1. Those are some great resolutions! And that french toast looks awesome! 🙂

  2. Sam

    love your resolutions!! i hope 2012 is great for you 🙂

  3. Missy

    I dont make resolutions either. I make “intentions/goals” as well; but I make them daily in addition to monthly!
    You’ve great on your goals and I’m sure you’ll meet and exceed your 2012 goals!

  4. Quality vs. quantity has definitely been one of my focuses lately too!

Leave a Reply

