Crustless Quiche

I have had several requests for the recipe on the quiche I posted yesterday.  It has me excited.  I love it when my readers request a recipe.  That means that my food at least looks like it tastes good…lol!

blog photos 954  

But I kid you not, this quiche is as tasty as it looks.  Not to mention super simple to throw together.  I very seldom cook a quiche, and I always question that since it is so simple and tasty.  Mostly we use eggs for breakfast and baking.  Maybe that is why I seldom think to cook an egg dish.

blog photos 956

Southwestern Egg Quiche

  • 1-2T butter, melted (the real stuff)
  • 1/4c parmesan cheese
  • 1/8c bread crumbs
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4c low fat milk
  • 1T (more/less depending on your tastes) southwestern seasoning
  • handful of chopped spinach
  • 1 small diced tomato
  • 1 small can of sliced black olives
  • handful of grated sharp cheddar
  1. preheat oven to 400*
  2. place melted butter in the bottom of a pie plate, sprinkle cheese and breadcrumbs on top
  3. beat eggs and milk in a medium bowl until combined
  4. toss in the remaining ingredients and whisk to mix
  5. pour egg mixture into pie plate
  6. bake about 45-50  minutes

You can sprinkle the top of the quiche with more grated cheese, per the hubster’s request.  Because you know he always wants more cheese.  Or salt.  Or butter.  Or any ingredient that is not the healthiest for you.  I just grin and say yes dear.  Then remove the dish without said requested ingredient.  Cut his slice, top with a scant (I do mean scant) more cheese 🙂

blog photos 955

note:  you can make this recipe any many variations.  The whole point of the recipe was to make the quiche crust less in order to make it a little more healthier.  Follow the same steps but toss in the veggies/meats/cheese of choice!

Now I will tell you that this is much better with some salsa on top.  I was out of salsa, but I will tell you that ketchup makes a lovely egg topping.  Am I the only one that uses ketchup on eggs?  In all seriousness, you can easily top a quiche with any condiment you like 🙂

Hopefully you will enjoy the crust less version as much as I have.  Thanks for asking me to share with you guys!  The hubster is probably hoping that you will request more just so I will start cooking again, lol 🙂  

4 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, DINNER, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Crustless Quiche

  1. Yummm! So is it like a frittata because i love those! Unfortunately for me the hubby will only eat eggs scrambled and there MUST be ketchup on the side, too funny!!!!
    Can’t wait to catch up on more posts 🙂

  2. Real men don’t eat quiche. I think that’s the name of a book. Anyways, I love quiche! Although I always find I end up cooking it for MUCH longer than any recipe says to.

Leave a Reply

