Brotherly Love

note: I have to admit that the idea for this post came from none other than the great Mama Pea.  If you didn’t have a chance to read her post yesterday then head over there now to check it out!

new camera 139

I didn’t grow up with a close sibling.  I had one brother that was born two years after me.  We weren’t close.  Not by a long shot.  We were very far apart.  As in I was always running!  He was hateful, spiteful.  Now don’t hate on him.  We are very close now.  My second brother was born 12 years after me, while my sister was born 22 years after me.  Those gaps do not leave a lot of room for “close siblings” if you know what I mean.  I am more like mother hen to them.

As I was reading Mama Pea’s post yesterday I couldn’t help but smile.  It was exactly the way my boys are.  So I wanted to take the opportunity to record my thoughts/feelings on their relationship.  The thing I love about my blog is that it not only is a way for me to share and express my passions with so many people, but that it also is a journal of sorts. 

beach day 006

I have to admit that I was scared to death of having the boys.  I wanted to have children, but like every new parent I worried that I would do something wrong.  I want my children to grow up confident, respectful, and with compassion.  I want them to apply themselves, do the best at all things, and to be successful.  I want the same things for them that all mothers want for their children.  At times I still feel like I will fail at my role as a mom.

They are as close as siblings with four years between them can be.  In one minute they are arguing about crazy things.  They surely have their moments, but for the most part they are two peas in a pod.

new camera 119

I love the closeness they have.  I have to admit that I longed for a little girl while I was pregnant.  I already had a boy so naturally I needed a girl to complete the picture.  As I look at the two boys together I am so thankful for the blessing that God gave me.  I am so happy that I have two boys as opposed to a boy and a girl.  To see those two together brings tears to my eyes. 

When I see those two together I know it is right.  They support each other.  Defend each other.  When they buy toys based on what the other one would like, ask to buy candy to take home for the other one from a store, or even when they ask for an extra sucker/sticker at the doctor’s office so the other will not be left out makes me realize how lucky we all are in our family.  They are blessed with a close sibling.  As parents we are blessed with such loving and caring kids. 

christmas 2011 054

There is no greater feeling in the world than watching your two boys hug each other just for the sake of giving a hug.  As I look at the two of them I realize that no matter what I have done in the past, no matter what I do in the future, I can always know that I did something two things right 🙂

I love you Noah & Kohl!

6 Comments

Filed under family

6 responses to “Brotherly Love

  1. Awwwww
    That last picture makes me tear up
    My favourite photos growing up are of me and my sister in matching outfits, now she just steals my clothes and doesn’t give them back – awww sisterly love is just as fun 🙂
    Lovely post dear!

  2. Amanda

    Such a sweet post today. I love it. Please kiss those wonderful boys for me and tell the Nanny loves them!

  3. Awwww, this is precious. I am SO close with my sister and there’s not a day that goes by that I don’t feel lucky to have been blessed with a permanent best friend. I’m so glad other siblings have the same relationship.

Leave a Reply

