Liven up leftovers

Ever wonder sometimes what you can do with leftover foods other than reheat and eat as before?  I always ask myself this question.  I mean Adam Sanders even talks about leftovers in his lunch lady song which sang about yesterday’s meatloaf!!

blog photos 977

I try to keep things interesting with my meals.  I am a creature of habit, but those that I live with are not as keen as I am to eat the same things everyday.  Which leaves me with the task of creating new meals with leftovers.  Like pot roast.  What do you typically do with left over pot roast? 

  blog photos 978   

Well where I am from we typically shred it and mix it with gravy/bbq sauce for sandwiches.  Which is good, but that big ol’ roast will last my family for about three meals as opposed to just two!  You see we have venison roasts, which is healthier than store bought beef roasts and are bigger!  So I made the usual pot roast with carrots & potatoes, then I made the usual bbq sandwiches, but I still had a hunk of meat left.  I couldn’t bear to throw it out so I went to work on brainstorming….

blog photos 982

  • Tacos – mmmm yeah I could do that but that requires a trip to the grocery. 
  • Chili – yeah but we eat chili often in the winter.  It is one of my go to crock pot meals for busy work days.
  • Stroganoff – I am sure the hubster would love that, but again requires a trip to the grocery for mushrooms.
  • Beefy Mac – yeah um last time I tried that I cried for three days because Brees never showed up!  I’ll be darn if he gets any more dishes made by me……unless of course he wins this year’s super bowl!!

blog photos 980

Then the light bulb went off…….why do we say this?  Think about it, doesn’t the light bulb actually “go on”??

blog photos 979

Beef Stir Fry

  • 2T canola oil
  • 2T sesame oil
  • 2T soy sauce
  • 2T cornstarch
  • 1 cup water
  • leftover roast beef, cut into pieces
  • bag frozen stir fry veggies, steamed ahead of time
  • brown rice
  1. Place the first four ingredients in a heated saute pan over medium-high heat, stirring constantly until cornstarch is blended 
  2. Slowly pour in water while whisking
  3. Add leftover roast beef
  4. Add veggies
  5. Top brown rice with beef mixture

blog photos 981

Not your typical pot roast dinner.  It is quick and easy to make, healthy to eat, and filling.  I do believe this will become one of my favorite “leftovers meals”!

4 Comments

Filed under CrOcKpOt, DINNER, family, favorites, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Liven up leftovers

  1. Looks delicious and this winter i’ve been all about turning left overs into stews! Just add a little stock and some rice or lentils and throw it in the slow cooker, yummmmmmm 🙂
    I seriously want to reach through my screen and eat that one piece of broccoli, love me some broccoli 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Dang girllll, your pot roast looks bomb! o_o lol I actually want to make one now

Leave a Reply

