Sometimes boring is best

Peas and Crayons

Happy Wednesday my friends!  It is a special day for me, I was able to drive my very own car, that’s right I said my car, to work this morning!!  Yippee!!  The rim for the car came in yesterday so by the time I made it home from work the hubster had it ready for me :)

This rocked my world!  You never realize how attached you are to your own vehicle until it is not available to you.  Now if that darn trucking company would decide how they are going to handle the claim and send me my money!  I hate dealing with companies/insurances…..but…..I was not about to wait on them before the car was repaired.  So we paid for the repairs, kept our receipts/appraisal report, kept the old rim/tire (just in cases), and had the darn thing fixed.

So this basically should be a celebratory WIAW but alas it is not.  Unfortunately I took all of my foodie photos on Monday for today’s post.  Which means I was still driving the hubsters truck and cursing as opposed to celebrating, but sometimes boring everyday eats are best :)

 blog photos 1005 blog photos 1006 blog photos 1007 blog photos 1008 blog photos 1009   blog photos 1012

  • breakfast:  scrambled eggs w/ cottage cheese, whole wheat english muffin, all fruit jam
  • lunch:  veggie/bean bowl, apple & nut butter
  • snack:  cinnamon apple Chobani – I am in love!!
  • dinner:  salad (all the topping are on the bottom post-toss), cream cheese & jalapeno stuffed venison loin, baked sweet potato

WARNING:  Unattractive meat photos below – sorry but it is hard to make meat look nice…..

blog photos 1013

The hubster was super excited to see this on the menu for dinner.  He has been requesting it for several days, but we all know how lazy I am when it comes to taking a trip to the grocery.  Now Ulta, Target, produce stand  – no problem, but the grocery…..

 blog photos 1011

Cream Cheese & Jalapeno stuffed Venison

  • one venison back strap – butterflied for stuffing/marinated with marinade of choice
  • 6 oz. low fat cream cheese
  • 2 jalapenos cut into thick strips
  • several slices of bacon
  • toothpicks
  1. Preheat oven to 375*
  2. Carefully make a slice down the middle of the back strap (or loin), you may need to make two more slits on each half in order to flatten the loin out completely.  Be careful  not to cut all the way through.
  3. Layer the slices of jalapeno throughout the meat, top with cream cheese.  Scoop it out with a spoon & smear with a knife.
  4. Roll the meat back into a roll being careful to keep the stuffing inside (at this point you can season the outside of the meat, I used a cajun seasoning but use whatever you like).
  5.   Place one strip of bacon down the center to cover the opening.  Use several slices of bacon to rap around the loin and secure with toothpicks.
  6. Place on a roasting pan and roast for approximately 45 minutes.

blog photos 1014

How was it – slamming!  I love the combination of cream cheese and jalapenos.  This recipe can be done with any type of loin cut.  I know that many people do not have venison available to them.  I am fortunate enough to have a hunter in the family.  Which means that I have healthy, natural meats to find to my family for most of the year.  You can leave the bacon off if  you choose, but if you do use a venison loin I advise to rub the meat with some olive oil (oil of choice).  Remember that venison has very little fat, which makes it dry out quickly.

blog photos 1010

There is nothing as comforting as feeding your family healthy foods, full of flavor, that everyone loves!!

Have a super duper great day :)

2 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, DINNER, family, Fruit, lunch, Uncategorized, WIAW

2 responses to “Sometimes boring is best

  1. I’m seeing that new Chobani everywhere around the blog world, and even my co-worker had some! But I haven’t seen it in the stores yet. I’ll have to do some hunting!

Leave a Reply

