It’s all gravy

My tastes have surely changed since I was a child.  I can name many foods that I will gladly eat now, even crave, that I would eat with reluctance or not at all growing up.  Greens, olives, venison just to name a few.

blog photos 994

But gravy.  Oh man I have always loved my gravy.  Of course being a southern girl I ate a lot of gravy.  How I remained thin as a child with all the southern, fried, buttered, greased up foods is beyond me.

  blog photos 993  

But my wonderful southern roots will not be stamped down in a healthy eating lifestyle.  Oh no I still want my southern food.  Thankfully I have learned many things and now know how to make those foods healthier and better for my body.   Boy am I thankful for that.  We enjoyed a wonderful southern dinner last night that I have cleaned up and enjoy without worry.  It still tastes as wonderful as the original version!

 blog photos 996

Tomato Gravy & Biscuits

  • 4T whole wheat flour
  • 1 + 1/2c water, maybe little more to thin to desired consistency
  • splash of liquid smoke
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • salt, pepper, onion powder to taste
  1. place flour in a dry skillet, yes I said dry – no fat here – over medium heat and stir while browning careful not to burn
  2. put liquid smoke into water, slowly pour into skillet, while whisking, once flour has browned
  3. once liquid is incorporated add the tomatoes and seasonings
  4. cook over low heat for about 10 minutes to let flavors “marry”

blog photos 995

Serve this over biscuits as breakfast, lunch, or dinner.  I have to tell you that Mama Pea has a wonderful biscuit recipe in her cook book; however, if you do not have that book available there are tons of recipes online.  The liquid smoke is important in the recipe because it gives it that “gravy” taste that so many southerners love.  Usually animal fat is used to help cook gravies so we are use to the flavors.  I urge you to try this simple recipe soon 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Louisiana, Uncategorized

6 responses to “It’s all gravy

  1. Amanda

    I have never had tomato gravy like this before. Next time I may try this recipe.

  2. Tomato gravy??? I didn’t know it existed but the photo of it dripping off the biscuits means i will be dreaming of it tonight 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Seriously, i never have biscuits, i really need to get on that (with your gravy on top of course) – i even have the cook book as per your suggestion months ago!
    Sigh, i’m totally drooling now

  3. Now I want gravy. And olives. And also chocolate, but that’s pretty much a given. I’ve never heard of tomato gravy before!

Leave a Reply

