Danish Genius

I am a genius!  I am, no bragging here just a simple fact 🙂

Like total genius! 

You know how you crave something that is bad, bad food, and the only thing you have on your mind is how to get that flavor without giving in to the horrible fat ridden, trans fat loaded, heart attack waiting to happen food?  Yeah you do!  Well that is what happened to me this past weekend friends.  Which is why I am a total genius!

 blog photos 1002 

Now I am not saying that I have geniously developed this wonderful recipe for the first time.  I am sure some one somewhere has done something pretty darn similar before, but on the off chance that they haven’t can someone tell me who to contact for a patent???

blog photos 1001

I wanted a danish.  Not just any danish but a blueberry cream cheese danish.  This is what happens when you live in Louisiana and it is mardi gras season.  You see king cakes everywhere.  Like literally everywhere – the grocery store, the coffee shop, The. Produce. Stand?  Everywhere!!!

 blog photos 997

Darn it, I wanted a danish!  Unfortunately my plan to get back on track includes not indulging in super sugary foods for several weeks in order to tame the sweet tooth a little.  So I had to compromise.  Then I had an “aha” moment…..

 blog photos 998

Blueberry Cream Cheese Waffles

  • 1/4c white whole wheat flour
  • 1T corn meal
  • 1T ground flaxseed
  • 1t baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 2T cream cheese
  • 1T all fruit blueberry jam
  • squeeze of lemon juice
  • 1/4c + 2T milk of choice
  1. pre-heat waffle iron
  2. mix dry ingredients together
  3. put cream cheese and jam in microwave for about 15 seconds to “melt” it
  4. combine wet ingredients, then mix into dry ingredients
  5. cook until nice and brown on each side

blog photos 1003

Blueberry Cream Cheese topping

  • 1-2T cream cheese
  • 1-2T all fruit jam
  • 1-2T milk
  1. place first two ingredients together in microwave for about 15 seconds to “melt”
  2. stir in milk to help thin
  3. drizzle on waffles

 blog photos 1004

This totally took care of my craving.  Did it taste just like a danish or king cake?  No it didn’t, but it did give me a much healthier version of a sweet treat.  My body thanks me 🙂

Like I said – genius!!

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Danish Genius

  1. Amanda

    That is genious. However, I will partake in king cake! But I am going to try this!

  2. I sooooo LOVE when you have an aha moment, makes me smile and makes my tummy grumble!
    Happy weekend my dear 🙂

  3. Mmmmmm, that looks yummy! I’ve never made waffles, probably due to the fact that I don’t known a waffle iron, but it is something I seem to want from time to time. Maybe St. Valentine will bring me one this year 🙂

  4. fairyhealthylife

    Geniously delicious! I love anything blueberry!!

Leave a Reply

