sometimes you just need a muffin

The other night as I was sitting on the couch listening to the hubster snore while trying to watch tv, and I had the urge to bake something.  Why?  Probably because I haven’t baked in a while.  So the wheels started turning.  I had some frozen cookie dough in the freezer, chocolate chip of course, but I didn’t want something so full of sugar.  It was close to nine after all!!

new camera 002new camera 005

So I did what any good blogger would do.  Make up my own recipe…..well no not exactly.  I went to my fellow blogs for inspiration.  I was in the mood for sweet and comforting.  That is when I thought about the wonderful Lauren who blogs over at Lawfully Wedded Wife.  She is such a wonderful baker.  I knew I could get some inspiration from her.

new camera 006

Banana-Pecan Muffins (sugar free)- adapted from her mini blueberry banana loaves

  • 2T butter
  • 1/3 c. NuNaturals baking blend 
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 c. lowfat plain greek yogurt 
  • 1 large mashed banana
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c. white whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 c. old fashioned oats
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1/3 c. pecan pieces

Instructions

  • In a medium sized mixing bowl, cream the butter and baking blend together with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.
  • Add in the egg, yogurt, vanilla, and mashed banana and mix until smooth.
  • In a separate small bowl, combine the flours, oats, salt, and baking powder.
  • Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until well combined. Fold in the pecans with a rubber spatula.
  • Lightly grease two muffin pans. Bake in a 350 degree oven until golden brown on top and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  • Remove from the oven and let cool 5 minutes in the pan before flipping out onto a rack to cool.

Now give me a big ol’ glass of milk and I am set.  To bad I couldn’t hear the tv for the hubster’s snore!!

new camera 004new camera 007

This took care of the sweet tooth, as well as provided me with a wonderful healthy snack for the next several days.  I placed my muffins in the fridge so as not to spoil due to dairy/fresh fruit being involved.  Just pop one of those bad boys into the microwave for a few seconds, it gives you a delicious snack.  As good as the ones that are fresh from the oven 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

4 responses to “sometimes you just need a muffin

  1. They look so good! And thank you so much for the sweet compliment! Muffins are so great for a quick snack–love it! 🙂

  2. Aww, Lauren is so great, isn’t she? 🙂 I have been loving having a whole wheat baked good around to smear some peanut butter on and call a snack. Muffins sound like they’d be perfect!

Leave a Reply

