Bliss

What is bliss? 

Bliss is having Monday’s off.  Bliss is having not only Monday off but Tuesday as well!  Four whole days of sleeping in, being lazy, and eating great food.

new camera 036

Oh yeah and dealing with a kid that has strep throat.  I forgot about that little set back, but let’s not let that ruin the bliss mmkay??

new camera 039

What is bliss?  In my house it is all of the above with a great breakfast included.  I love food.  I love to eat.  I love to cook.  I love to try new recipes.  So my bliss is……

new camera 040    

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes w/ blueberry sauce

  • Grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 c ricotta cheese
  • 1/4c + 1T  milk
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 1 T unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 eggs white
  • 1/4 c whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t baking soda

Directions

In a large bowl, whisk together the lemon zest and juice, ricotta, milk, applesauce, and egg. In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, sweetener, baking powder, and baking soda. Add the flour mixture to the ricotta mixture and mix until combined. The batter will be slightly lumpy.  Cook on preheated griddle until cooked through.  Makes three small pancakes.

new camera 038

Blueberry sauce

  • 1/4c frozen blueberries
  • 2T water
  • 1T cornstarch

Mix the cornstarch and water together.  Add the blueberries and water mixture to a small saucepan and heat over medium heat until thickened.  Serve on top of pancakes.

new camera 037

Mmmmmmm, now that my friends is bliss.  Now pardon me while I go peel my child away from the table.  He is trying to make up for missed meals all in one day!

16 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, family, Fruit, Uncategorized

16 responses to “Bliss

  1. MMMM those look and sound deeeelicious! I love a good fruit sauce over pancakes! Enjoy your day off! 🙂

  2. I made pancakes yesterday and it was my first time in FAR too long! I just made plain ones (well, I added chocolate chips) but they were still good!

  3. I haven’t made pancakes in a long time! I just ran out of maple syrup though so it looks like it’s going to have to wait one more week 🙂

  4. fairyhealthylife

    Mmmmm indeed, pure bliss. I always love your pancake recipes!

  5. that most definitely IS bliss – oh my! pancakes and berries….so beautiful. Love the photography Helen! looks so professional.

  6. I still can’t believe you all get so many days off this week 🙂 Happy Mardi Gras!

  7. caloricandcrazy

    Those pancakes look so delectable and delicious! 🙂

  8. those look delish! o_o i can never make pancakes that are as round as yours lol

Leave a Reply

