Who would have thought???

Did you guys know that there is a cinnamon basil plant?  That is the name of the basil plant!  I had never heard of this before, and I only came across it the other day on the web.

The funny thing is that I came across this due to a cookie recipe.  I was looking for a new cookie recipe, something a little different from the norm.  I love to taste foods that have unique blends in them!

new camera 115

Unfortunately I have no clue where to find cinnamon basil at.  So what is a girl to do?  Why make my own “cinnamon basil” recipe of course!

new camera 117  

Cinnamon Basil Waffles

  • 1/4c of your favorite pancake/waffle mix (homemade or store bought)
  • enough water to add to the mix for cooking (this will vary depending on serving size, I made one waffle)
  • 2T applesauce
  • 1T cinnamon
  • 1t basil from a tube

Mix all ingredients together, place on pre-heated waffle iron, and cook until golden brown.  Serve with honey or maple syrup!

new camera 112

I decided not to try this in a cookie recipe at first because I wasn’t sure how I would like it.  I didn’t want to waste a huge batch of cookies if it didn’t turn out as good as I was hoping.  So how was it?  I loved it!  The basil gave it a different but luxurious taste.  It reminded me of something you would eat on vacation in some lovely little cafe.  You know what I am talking about.  One of those things that when you eat it you try to figure out the ingredients so you can recreate it at home.  Yeah, that’s what it reminded me of.  This will totally go into pancake rotation at my house 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, favorites, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Who would have thought???

  1. I have to admit, I often want to crawl through the computer and just eat what you got cookin’ girl, it always looks so yum!

    xoxoxo
    Traci

  2. fairyhealthylife

    I’ve never heard of cinnamon basil, but I saw a chocolate mint plant! It has a chocolate scent and the edges of the leaves are dark brown! That would be delicious for this recipe!

Leave a Reply

