Green is what…….

GOOD!!

Yes I know I sound like the Twilight teacher but it is true.  Green is good, and I am not only speaking of recycling 🙂

new camera 101

I have been on a salad kick lately.  Well ok I am always on a salad kick, but I mean like really big salads.  We usually have a side salad with our dinner at least once a week, usually more.  Here lately I have been craving salads as my dinner.  Which means it has to be loaded up with stuff to fill me up!

072011 168

So I am going to talk about some of my favorite salad add ins 🙂

Let’s start with protein shall we.  I usually opt for grilled shrimp or grilled chicken breast when I am making a dinner salad.  Those are my go to protein sources.  As you can tell from my picture I also love boiled eggs in my salads.  Outside of those three options I have occasionally used tofu.  I can also do a mean curry chicken salad.  I have on occasion tried to throw in a burger patty, but it is my least favorite source for protein. 

blog photos 835

Now for the veggies!  I totally hands down love romaine lettuce for salads, but I also love spinach leaves.  Often I will combine the two in a dinner salad.  Next my go to green foods are broccoli and green peppers.  I love a salad with broccoli in it!  I have often added in carrots, cauliflower, green peas, red or yellow peppers, and/or celery.  Of course cucumber and tomato are always add ins for my salads.  As you can tell above.  I also love to add in zucchini, yellow squash, green beans, etc during the summer months when produce is at an abundance 🙂

blog photos 895

I also like to add in pastas to get some great filling carbs going on.  I usually only add in pastas if I am making the salad the main meal!

112010 081

Now for what I like to call toppings!!  I know veggies are also called toppings by some people, not me.  I call those add ins.  Toppings are things that you add on top but use sparingly.  My go to toppings are olives (any variety), walnut/almonds, or sunflower seeds.  Very seldom do I use bacon bits or croutons, I usually only have those if they come on a salad I order when eating out.  I also like to add dried or fresh fruits for toppings.  My dried fruit of choice is cranberries, where as I tend to go between apples and strawberries for fresh fruits.

Now let’s talk dressing.  I have a confession.  My all time favorite dressings are the creamy ones.  I can’t lie!  Give me ranch, ceasar any day.  But we all know that those are not the healthiest!  So I usually go with a home made honey mustard, balsamic vinaigrette, or a oriental made with sesame oil.  Sometimes I like to be as simple as squeezing some fresh lemon juice over the top and calling it a meal!!

So tell me do you like/eat salads often?

What are your favorite add ins/toppings?

What is your favorite dressing? 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Green is what…….

  1. Missy

    I love salads – my greens are a mix of baby spinach and the Butter bliss Dole lettuce – I love that! I like Romaine too. I love tuna, egg whites and cottage cheese as my protein (I usually have some of each because the mix of CC with tuna is great. I like bell peppers, mushrooms, red onions, grape tomatoes, cucumbers, and carrots. I also may use Greek peppers, celery and beets if they are on a salad bar. I may add some fat free feta or shredded cheese if I’m in the mood. My favorite dressing is…get this….balsamic vinegar and Frenchs spicy brown mustard! I love those together! I top off my salad with fresh ground black pepper. Sometimes I’ll add the Spike seasoning or Cavendars Greek seasoning for extra flair ;).
    I am wanting one now. Sadly I just get too lazy sometimes to prep all the ingredients. But I think I’ll make one today! Ok sorry for the novel, but you asked ! 😉

  2. I love salads and usually eat one for lunch every day. We also try to have them with supper too but it doesn’t happen every night. We love mixed greens, cucumbers, tomatoes, avocado, pine nuts, sprouts, feta, green onions, etc. Basically anything goes except we’re not big fans of raw peppers.

    My current fav dressing is creamy cucumber 🙂

  3. fairyhealthylife

    I love salads and eat them at least 3 times a week. They are so simple to make, very filling and great way to get your greens! I like to add black olives, jalapenos, tomatoes, steamed or grilled vegetables, shrimp is always great too! As for dressing, I don’t miss the creamy ones. I love lemon, vinegar or the flavor of the marinade when I grill!

  4. These salads all look so good! I think my favorite salad topping is mandarin oranges…I just love that sweetness in there! And I’m a huge fan of the creamy dressings too…they’re oh-so-delicious…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

