Green loving machine

Happy hump day everyone!  AHEM….remember we do not mention that “type” of hump in my house, come on you know the story.  Geez what am I going to do with you people!!

 Peas and Crayons

I am speaking of the lovely party that Jenn hosts for us every week.  I mean how lucky are we to have a weekly party??  After you check out my eats head on over and show her some love.  Don’t forget to check out what others are eating, you can get great inspiration that way. 

Oh and don’t forget to check out yesterday’s post for breakfast ideas and enter in the giveaway, but let me clear a few things up.  Since I had no comments I wasn’t sure if it is because no one read it???? OR if it wasn’t clear.  First and foremost I do not mean to give me your new ideas.  I totally get that you are going to put those on your own blog if you have one.  I simply want a recommendation for one of your breakfast creations so I can try to add in some new things, old favorites, variety, etc.  A link will be posted leading to the breakfast/recipe on your own blog.  For those that do not have a blog that I can’t link to you will still be mentioned and given credit.  I also just really wanted to do a different fun giveaway :)

So Jenn as dubbed this green WIAW month.  How smashing!  I need to catch up on some greens.  I am sorry for not attending the party lately as I should, please forgive :(

new camera 118 new camera 119 (Sunday’s breakfast-blueberry pancakes)

Today’s breakfast looks much better than Sundays don’t ya think??  So I had to throw that in there, and look….I see GREEN!!  Yesterday I finally made the trip over to the produce stand to stock up on much needed fruits/salad makings.  I just love that place, much to my wallets dismay!

new camera 135 new camera 136 (today’s breakfast)

**french toast topped with berries, kiwi, cantaloupe, and a drizzle of maple.  I make my “egg wash” sweet with stevia so syrup is not really required**

On the list of purchases was romaine, broccoli, cucumber, and tomato for salad fixings.  We couldn’t stop with veggies, we were in desperate need of fruit.  So we stocked up on strawberries (which are in season and fresh from the farm down the road…yippeee), blueberries, bananas, kiwi, pears, apples, and of course a wonderful cantaloupe :)

Now that the family is stocked for the week I feel more at ease.  I love to have fresh fruit in the house.  Nothing makes your heart swell like your five year old asking for an apple in his lunch :)

blog photos 896 (loaded salad w/ the best ever dressing)

Speaking of lunch, it was full of greens.  Now keep in mind this is not the actual salad that was eaten at my desk.  Oh no that one is way to ugly sitting in a tupperware container, but it is the same ingredients.  I just opted to give you a better picture!  I didn’t have a picture of the dressing I used since I just recently purchased another jar.  At a pretty price of 6$$ for a pint jar….yeah it is a splurge, but oh it is the best.  It is produced right her in Louisiana, extra points for local!!  Yes it is a not the best for you creamy dressing, but since you purchase it in the refrigerated section you know that it is natural foods without all of the preservative crap that goes in it……a little extra fat is good for the soul right?? 

Anywho…it is produced by a company named Cousins, and it is the creole tomato flavor.  Just that just sound smashing :)  I made the purchase in our local Winn Dixie so if you ever get a chance to try it I urge you to.  I am not sure if they ship out of state or not.  Oh and remember it is in the produce section!!

new camera 120 

Of course no day can go by without a little snackage…….I love to snack.  I did have a brown rice cake yesterday but you all know what those look like.  So instead I give you my peppermint patty smoothie!  Totally in honor of St. Patty’s day :)

  • 1/2 cup coconut milk (refrigerated so it is thickened)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 t peppermine extract
  • 1T cocoa powder
  • vanilla stevia drops
  • enough ice to reach desired consistency (I used about 1/2 cup)

new camera 121

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend away :)  I had to do something.  McDonald’s commercial is giving me an insane craving!  I just prefer not to have all the calories/extra sugar, etc.

 new camera 133

Now dinner was nothing too special for me, but oh so good.  We had some leftover pasta salad from the weekend, and you all know how I am about my leftovers.  Mind you it is the bacon ranch boxed kind, but I never use the actual amount of mayo they suggest.  I probably used about 1/2c to TWO boxes of the pasta.  Oh and I added in extra frozen peas…..cuz it’s cool to eat green :)

I simply cooked some grilled chicken and butter beans (from the freezer) to go along with the left over salad.  Really easy, super quick dinner is served…..and then I was a really bad girl.  As if the whole boxed pasta salad wasn’t enough! 

new camera 134

I had a biscuit!  I know, I know.  BUT…really I am a southern girl.  You should know that you can’t put a biscuit in front of a southern girl and not expect her to eat it!  If you didn’t already know that because you aren’t southern or have a southern friend, let this be your lesson.  My thighs will probably hate me this week.  Oh but it was oh so good :)

What is one of your local weaknesses you can’t resist?

2 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, DINNER, favorites, Fruit, Louisiana, lunch, Uncategorized, WIAW

2 responses to “Green loving machine

  1. I love biscuits :) mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    I can’t resist maple syrup! it’s the season right now, all fresh and yummy!

Leave a Reply

