WIAW spring break edition

Have I told you lately that I am on spring break this week?  Oh I have, mmkay.  Well have I told you that I have been cleaning like crazy this week?  Oh I have, mkay. 

Peas and Crayons

Well have I told you that I have big plans to bake/cook this week?  I didn’t!  Oh well I do have those wonderful plans 🙂

blog photos 518new camera 165

 new camera 222blog photos 818

new camera 225 new camera 227  

 blog photos 630

The run down:  overnight oats w/ peanut butter & blueberries, yogurt, chocolate chip scone, lots-o-salad, red beans & rice – Louisiana style, skillet cornbread – the only way to cook cornbread, and of course a spring break wouldn’t be complete without a nice glass of wine!

So which recipe should I give to you first?  Hmmmmmmmm, kay beans it is!

Louisiana Red Beans

  • 1 pack of red beans (I use Camelia brand)
  • 1 lb. smoked sausage (andouille is best but can use ham as well)
  • 1t salt
  • 2t black pepper
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, diced
  • 1-2 jalapeno peppers, diced (use two if you like spice, I have wee ones so only one for me)
  1. Rinse the beans well then place in a large pot
  2. Add enough water to cover the beans by two to three inches
  3. Stir in the onions and peppers
  4. Place on stove over medium-high heat and bring to a boil
  5. Reduce heat to low and simmer for two to three hours
  6. Add water as needed to keep beans in enough liquid
  7. Now take a potato masher and mash some of the beans in the pot, or use a spoon to mash some against the side of the pot, this step is important because it gives you the creaminess that Louisiana beans are known for!
  8. Stir in the salt a pepper
  9. Serve with cornbread

The key ingredient here is the peppers.  We like things a little spicy here in Louisiana so don’t by shy about spice unless you have wee ones to feed.  You can also add in cajun seasonings to give you some heat if you choose to not use peppers.  We also love to eat out beans with a few dashes of hot sauce and some sliced banana rings out of the jar on top 🙂

Now if you will excuse me I have some baking to do 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, Louisiana, lunch, WIAW

8 responses to “WIAW spring break edition

  1. Yum, I love red beans! You know anything cooked with sausage like that is going to be delicious…mmmm. 🙂 Enjoy your spring break!

  2. fairyhealthylife

    Mmm mmm! Everything looks delicious! Especially those oats! Happy Baking!

  3. I cant decide which of those things looks the most delicious!!!

    I’ve had that resling before! I bought it because I liked the bottle 😉 haha

  4. I want one of everything please….I’ve been really into spicy lately too 🙂 YUM

Leave a Reply

