stressed spelled backwards = desserts

Things have been a little off for me lately.  We have a lot going on in our lives right now.  I often try to figure out how we make it through each day in one piece!

Between family, work, baseball, and extended family I rarely have time to pee, much less really do any good cooking lately.  I have to admit that most of my meals haven’t been the best as far as healthy eating goes.  The fact that we have a holiday nearly every month to celebrate really is not helping matters!!

new camera 328

Of course work is super busy as usual, we are on the downhill slide of the school year with lots to wrap up before we break for summer.  Of course I have my regular day to day duties as well with the house, homework, cleaning, washing, meals, etc.  Then along came spring and with it baseball season. 

new camera 181

Now we are spending evenings at the ball park where the concession stand is filled with an abundance of not so good for you foods.  Of course we often have an odd game time that starts before we normally eat dinner and ends late.  Which means we are at the ball park and starving.  I try to do my best with a  healthy snack before leaving and a simple dinner when we get home.  That does not always work!  More often than not Kohl ends up with nachos or fries from the concession that he doesn’t finish (usually it is fries), and I am a stickler about throwing away/wasting food.  Especially food that I pay a few bucks for, so I end up finishing them 😦

Then I have to throw in another kink in life.  My husband has a lot going on with his dad at the moment.  I am not comfortable at this point in putting his family’s business out there so I will not go in to details out of respect for them.  I will tell you that it is a very emotional time at this point for us.  I will also say that the family is in need of prayer for strength and courage.  This also adds to the craziness of life right now, which leaves us occasionally stopping to grab a burger, or some other type of fast food. 

Do not get me wrong, I am not complaining about my life.  It is for the most part great and blessed.  It is just that I cave under pressure.  I have always been that way.  So I am making some great food choices, then some not so great ones.  Is your life like this?  It is like a food roller coaster!  I have a great breakfast, a good lunch, and then either a good dinner with a horrible bedtime snack, or just a not so great dinner. 

Usually it is the good dinner with a snack situation that I find myself in.  I am a stress eater!  Hence the title of this post….

Here is a normal rundown for me lately: 

  • oats w/ fruit, coffee
  • apple w/ nut butter
  • salad, sandwich, leftovers but usually always a healthy meal
  • overnight oats, yogurt, smoothie
  • lean protein, veggies, maybe a starch such as potato

Sounds like a good day right??  Well dinner is at times eaten around seven.  BUT….then I will throw in a scoop or two of blue bell ice cream, piece of cake, cookies, or maybe a few miniature candy bars now that Easter has come and gone…..

It is like a vicious cycle that I can’t seem to break.  I know it is because I am just physically and emotionally exhausted at this point.  To make matters worse I haven’t been able to work out efficiently.  I try to squeeze in a day or two at the gym, a little home strengthening if I can.  It seems everyday between baseball and other family situations we are gone every afternoon/evening. 

So why am I putting this out there.  Well for one I just really needed an outlet and I often use my blog as that outlet.  For two I need some accountability.  I know that I can turn myself around.  I usually am really good a moderating my eating.  I will not lie and claim to eat clean and healthy all the time.  I love me some sweets!  But I am usually more conscious of my choices, and I try to moderate the amount of sweets I have weekly. 

All is not lost.  I just need to plan out better meal times and choices.  I have to admit that I really do not have a good stock of healthy snack food since I rarely have time to go to the grocery.  I just have to make the time!  I have really turned to overnight oats as a form of snack lately, which is helping some.  Also I need to experiment with my new ice cream maker and try to come up with some healthier ice creams besides blue bell!  Of course that requires a trip to the grocery as well…lol!

So here is to stomping down the stress eating!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “stressed spelled backwards = desserts

  1. fairyhealthylife

    I definetly get it! I think planning does a lot of good when you can find the time. I’ll be praying for your family.

  2. I know just what you mean, I use blogging for the same reasons! It’s great to have an outlet sometimes. I have really been struggling lately too with making healthy choices…I try to just remember that one bad choice doesn’t erase the other good choices that I have made! Prayers to you and your family, I hope things clear up soon.

  3. caloricandcrazy

    mmm nachos and queso! not the healthiest, but soooo good! 🙂

  4. I am so sorry Helen. I hope your family matters clear – I feel bad when anyone has to deal with stress within the family, as it’s easy to close someone negative out when they aren’t related to you, tricky and difficult when they’re your blood.

    I will send good thoughts.

    How did I not know stressed spelt backwards was desserts, I’m using that one 🙂

Leave a Reply

