Plum Chicken

How was your weekend my friends?  Mine was fabulous!!  We kicked the weekend off Friday night with a lovely dinner out with the boys to our favorite Mexican place 🙂

photo

Where I enjoyed a lovely mago margarita!  Along with steak fajitas and queso.

On Saturday we had a ball game to make up from all of the rain the week before.  It was a gorgeous day to be out on the ball field.  Nice a sunny with a wonderful breezy wind.  We stopped on the way home for a lovely little frozen treat.

photo2

Orchid cream vanilla snowball.  Now I know you are probably thinking “a snowball?”  Yep!  That is what we call them down here in Louisiana, and let me tell you these little babies have nothing on what is known as a snow cone to the rest of the world.

This weekend was also our annual strawberry festival down here in Ponchatoula, LA.  The hubster and I decided to venture out Saturday night for a little festival aciton.  We ended up running into several of our friends and made a night out of it.  We ventured home around two in the morn.  I haven’t been out that late in a very long time!

Then on Sunday we had not one but two crawfish boils to go to.  Sorry no pics, I didn’t pack the camera with me 😦

So as you can tell I did no cooking this weekend.  I was in the kitchen long enough to fry up some bacon for a BLT yesterday morning, but other than that we either ate quick meals such as sammies or we ate out.  It was a fabulous weekend.  Which means that I have no excuse not to cook this week!

So tonight’s dinner is a tasty, but a quick and easy entree.  I actually made this dish a couple about a week ago because I had several plums that I needed to use up quickly.  It was actually featured in my WIAW post.  After a quick little google search on using plums I came across a lovely little recipe.  Of course I had to adjust things a little, seeing as how I didn’t have some of the ingredients that are listed, but I pretty much followed the recipe as far as ingredients used, but made a few adjustments to how it was cooked and served.  The original recipe is a Bobby Flay recipe that you can find here. 

new camera 403

  • 4 tablespoons oil of choice
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger 
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper 
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 3-4 plums, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 4 chicken thighs
  1. heat 2 tablespoons oil in skillet and brown the chicken thighs on both sides, remove to a plate.
  2. heat remaining oil in skillet and add in the onion and garlic to sauté until tender.
  3. add remaining ingredients to the pan, return the chicken, and simmer until chicken is cooked through.
  4. serve over pasta

 new camera 402

So how was it?  It  was a big hit with the family.  They enjoyed it served up with some whole wheat pasta so I decided to make it again since it is such an easy dish to make.  I urge you to give it a try.  It is also an easy way for me to get some ethnic foods served at my house, seeing as to how I married a steak and potatoes kind of guy that never takes me to eat ethnic foods!

5 Comments

Filed under DINNER, favorites, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Plum Chicken

  1. Missy

    That looks really good, I love the sweet/salty combos. One of my favorite easy chicken meals is to put chicken breasts in crockpot with a jar of apricot or peach preserves, soy sauce and a little garlic/onion powder. It’s easy and good! This reminded me of it. My family loves it with rice!
    And yes, we call them snowballs too; the hub gets one almost daily, but he gets sweetened condensed milk on his!

  2. I love love love plums, that looks amazing (almost as good as that margarita, i want i want!!!)
    Sounds like you had a lovely weekend – i wish it was strawberry season here!

  3. fairyhealthylife

    How fun! I’m going to have to try that recipe, I think the family will love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

