A Delicious All-Natural Cookie Recipe

My quest to live more healthy and naturally began when I finally came to terms with my lactose intolerance. The only problem? I absolutely love dessert and tend to make a batch of cookies at least on a weekly basis. I needed a chocolate chip cookie recipe that was healthier and sans dairy. I tried many chocolate chip recipes that fit the bill. Most were hard as rocks and bland.
Then, I found this recipe at SuperVegan and the magic of the flax egg. I’m not vegan by any stretch, but I like to go sans animal products from time to time, and I love the chewy softness of these cookies. This recipe has less cholesterol and calories than regular cookies, plus the healthfulness of flax. In fact, I love this recipe so much it has inspired me to look into <GuidetoOnlineSchools.com.

hy earning a degree in the baking & pastry arts .

Dry Ingredients

1 1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
1 cup chocolate chips

Wet Ingredients

1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup (white) vegan sugar
1/2 cup of soy butter
2 tbsp of ground flax mixed with 3 tbsp of warm water (allow to sit for two minutes)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

Sift all the dry ingredients together, minus chocolate chips. I don’t have a sifter, so I just used a mesh colander I had lying around.
Mix together wet stuff together by hand. You may be making faces at the ground flax in the recipe wondering what it’s all about, or even how to grind up your flax seeds. I would recommend a coffee grinder, which most people have on hand. When mixed with warm water, the flax becomes an emulsifier, just like an egg.
After you’ve mixed in the flax egg and the other wet ingredients, start mixing in your dry stuff. Add chocolate chips.
Bake at 300 degrees Fahrenheit for about 20 minutes. Don’t over bake! This will make the cookies hard and crunchy, not chewy. For more information on pastry basics, check out www.pastryschools.net/.

Source
Harvard University: School of Public Health (2012)

7 Comments

Filed under baking, CHOCOLATE, Uncategorized

7 responses to “A Delicious All-Natural Cookie Recipe

  1. Being we are sudo vegans we don’t use eggs in our baking and have been using ground flax and water for some time, we also skip the oil most of the time and you don’t even notice it. The muffins on my site, were made without eggs and you can’t even tell…I have noticed one thing, when it calls for egg whites, I do the one tlbs or 1/4 cup, is how I do it, instead of per egg, it seems to work better I have noticed! :)

    Your cookies sound delish, will have to try!!! :)

    xoxoxo
    Traci

  2. Yummmm chewy cookies are my fav
    I actually ask in bakeries for the most undercooked cookie, i’m lame :)

  3. Are you really looking into culinary school?! How fun and exciting!

  4. This is great, I’ve been looking for a nice cookie recipe that’s natural and healthier – I’m trying it :)

Leave a Reply

