Pick – on – my – gallo

Do you know what season it is?  Yeah I know it is basically summer but not just that!  It is garden season.  Which means loads of fresh produce. 

I love fresh produce 🙂

new camera 026

Like the beautiful tomatoes and cucumbers that I get from my Dad’s garden.  That’s right I said my Dad’s garden.  Because why should I do all that work when he will supply me with all I need! 

new camera 027

Just joking really.  I would plant my own if I had to, but my Dad is so sweet and kind to provide me with an abundance of veggies.

 new camera 024

So what is one to do with so many tomatoes?  Hmmm, let me see.  Oh I know!  Let’s make some pico de gallo 🙂

 new camera 025 

I loooovvvvveeeeeee pico de gallo!  I will eat this stuff with a spoon.  Seriously no vessel needed.  I love to keep a huge bowl of the stuff in the fridge to top all my dishes with.  You name it, it goes with it.  Well except maybe ice cream.  But then again it may not be that bad, I have never tried it!

 new camera 030

Know the key to great pico is the right ratio of ingredients.  Most people think that pico is all about the tomatoes.  While those are a key and super important ingredient, you also need to really show some love to the remaining ingredients as well.

  • 5 roma tomatoes
  • 1 small onion
  • 3 jalapeno peppers
  • cilantro
  • juice of 1 lime ( use 1/2 if large lime, our limes here are tiny) 
  • salt
  •  

    Dice the jalapenos, tomatoes and onions. You can leave the seeds in the jalapenos if you like a spicier pico, or just add extra jalapeno.  The jalapenos should be adjusted to your taste.  Now you will chop up a nice bunch of cilantro leaves.  Do not be stingy with the cilantro.  It really helps with the flavor of the dish.  Place all of these ingredients together in a bowl and give it a good stir.  Now you will need to squeeze the juice of the lime over the bowl, add the salt, and mix it all together.  Now go grad a spoon and enjoy!

    Or some chips.

     new camera 028

    On on top of a steak, with some migas, scrambles eggs, chicken, stir fry, the list goes on and on.

     new camera 029

    Or you could be really brave and give that whole ice cream concept a go.  No matter what you choose, you will surely declare this the best thing ever.  You will request that you have a constant delivery of onions, peppers, and tomatoes.  Oh and your family may try to stage an intervention.

    There seems to be a lot of that going on over here lately!!

    2 Comments

    Filed under DINNER, favorites, lunch, Uncategorized

    2 responses to “Pick – on – my – gallo

    1. Oh this looks Amazing! I too love fresh veggies, especially in the summer time. This looks super yummy and healthy! Definitely going to try this!
      Chelsea @ Naturally Sweet Recipes

    2. bookmarked 🙂 thanks Helen I love your recipes

    Leave a Reply

    