madness of an unorganized closet

Do things in your house ever “speak” to you sometimes?  Don’t look at me with that “she’s crazy, what the hell is she talking about” look.  Besides don’t you know that that crazy look gives you wrinkles!

You know what I am talking about.  Day in and day out you walk into the room and there it is.  That loud “scream” of you need to do something with me!  Because you know that after living in it for seven years without really giving it some attention, those rooms will begin to scream…..

It could be your kitchen, you know like when all the storage bowls fall on your head when the cabinet is opened.  Or it could be your bathroom saying please for the love of chocolate quit throwing random things inside drawers/cabinets.  Possibly it is your bedroom with a very sad look saying please show me some decor love as you do with the family room!

Yeah my house says all of those things to me!  One thing at a time house, one thing at a time!!

new camera 199

new camera 203

For me that one room was the closet.  It has screamed at me forever!!  I just never felt like tackling the darn thing, but as fate would have it I had to give in.  Something had to be done…….

Now  while I am blessed with a wonderful walk in, lot’s of room for clothing, and even a space for a vanity (where the vanity actually use to be), the poor thing was so unorganized.  You see we have no storage closets/areas in our home which means everything gets thrown into the closets.  Oh and when I moved in the hubster already had his things where he kept them so I basically worked around it. 

His clothes were hung all around the top racks, mine are on the bottom.   Which makes you feel a little dizzy when you spin around to see what you want to wear.  The shelving area was just a lot of shoes, hats, and various things just thrown on them.  The top shelf housed lot’s of crap, as well as various things we do not use very often so they just end up there!  Oh and let’s not forget about the fact that the laundry baskets are in the middle of the floor so you basically move them around to get to items you need. 

This made me hate the closet that I loved so much when I first laid eyes on it 😦

So we had to do something about that, or else I would go deaf from the screams!  Starting with the hubster, since you know he doesn’t need nearly the space I do!

new camera 205new camera 213

He inherited the back wall.  So his clothes are hanging on the top and bottom racks.  His shoes are lined up along the shelf of the bottom, as well as his hats. 

new camera 201

We also have this one small hanging area that I use to hang dresses on due to the height of the rack.  It is the only area in the closet that allows me to hang longer items without them dragging the floor.  It is also by the area where the vanity should be.  As you can tell in the picture above I had a hod podge of stuff on the shelf.  Those things have been removed and now the shelf is used to hold the hubster’s shorts.  We like to fold our shorts as opposed to hanging. 

new camera 206

You will also notice that I have various cutesy decorative things in the closet.  As you can see here I have a photo, which is of the hubster and I in Jamaica for our wedding/honeymoon, one of my Tiffany & Co boxes, and a little plate from my trip to Hawaii.  Because even that room needs some nostalgia, love, and memories 🙂

new camera 208new camera 212

I moved all of my clothing items, with the exception of the dresses/skirts, over to the left wall again utilizing both the top and bottom racks for my side.  Oh and of course I have the clothes organized by type, length, etc.  I mean you gotta have shirts with shirts and pant with pants right?? 

I used the shelf of the bottom rack to hold more of the hubster’s hats, my hat, and some of my under shirts that I like to keep folded as opposed to hanging.  I normally where tanks under clothing which are hanging, but these little babies are just so tiny and easy to fold!

new camera 209

The top shelf is holding a basket of scarves, two boxes (am I the only that saves  perfume boxes and such for storage??) of scarves, as well as my boat bag.  I just love storing items in pretty boxes and baskets 🙂  Now the items will be moved to a lower shelf once winter rolls around, but for now they enjoy being on top, haha!!  As you can see I have a photo up there as well.  It is a photo of Noah as a toddler.  Because like I said, the closet needs decor love too!

Now the top shelf that goes all the way around the rest of the closet also holds various items.  Like I said we have no storage areas.  So we keep various thing in here.  I have a container for wrapping papers/bags, a few boxes for bigger purchases that need to be kept for a little while, as well as the hubster’s gun cases/guns for hunting.  If you have the same situation in your house with storage may I suggest using cute bags from stores, boxes, baskets, etc.  That way it is cure, decorative, and you can hide just about anything!!

new camera 210new camera 211

Now those crazy shelves that had so much crap on them are now mine!  Yep I booted the hubster out.  The top still holds the BB/pellet guns that the boys shoot with dad.  That was they can be easily reached by dad, yet out of reach for the little kiddos 🙂

Next I have my sweaters, yep that’s all of them.  Come on people I live in Louisiana, we do not need sweaters.  Winter for us would be mostly long sleeved shirts with a blazer/jacket over it.  No need to add multiple or thick layers.  I also have a photo of Kohl as a baby on the shelf, and you see that cute pink bag?  It has my clutches, small bags in it.  This is also the shelf that my purse calls home.  It is better than sitting on a table or counter somewhere.  Then next we have jeans, seperated by style (boot cut, skinny, cropped), and I also put my shorts on this shelf as well.  When winter rolls around the cropped jeans and shorts will trade places with the baskets/boxes of scarves.  And as you can tell the remainder of the shelves are all used for my various shoes.  Some in boxes, some are not.  I place all of my boots along the wall on the floor.  I also have a basket on the floor with my socks in it.  I mean if this is the area that I put my shoes on then this is where I need my socks right?

new camera 207

Now the spot that use to have the vanity now hold laundry and a storage container.  I am planning to trade out the laundry baskets for one of those that has the three area divided to make things a little neater.  The storage container was put in here when the vanity was in here to hold hair appliances and such.  I still use it to hold the same items since I have yet to figure out where to put them. 

new camera 204      

Now I feel better.  The closet is complete!  It is so nice to walk in without crap in the middle of the floor, to see things neatly organized, and not to mention very functional.  I am also in the process of switching out my plastic hangers with huggable ones.  They hold the shape of your clothes better than plastic ones, and they are just more cosmetically appealing.  Finally the darn thing is not screaming at me.  Well except for the fact that I need to get a cure stool as opposed the the little crappy step stool that I use to sit on for my shoes, lol!

So tell me are there areas in your house that still need attention even if you have lived there for years?

What are some of your favorite and functional ways to store items?

1 Comment

Filed under family, FASHION, Uncategorized

One response to “madness of an unorganized closet

  1. I really need to do a closet makeover. Mine is pretty bad.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

Leave a Reply

