2 weeks in

Yep you read right!  Two whole weeks in to my paleo plan.  So I have had several people ask me if I can tell a difference, how hard is it, and how long do I plan on continuing this way of eating???

Well first it is a lifestyle change, not a diet!  While I am sure some people use the plan as a diet to lose weight that was not my intention.  As I have mentioned previously I was having some health related issues which lead me to the search engines.  I was having digestive issues, fatigue, mouth ulcers, etc.  Things that have plagued me off and on my entire life (well at least as long as I can remember).  After a lot of reading I decided to cut out all of the foods that are discussed on the paleo plan to see how it affects me.  Will I introduce the foods back into my diet?  Well yes I will, and as long as I can tolerate and of the foods I will gladly enjoy them again!

 

I totally miss yogurt!  I picked up some coconut greek style at Whole Foods but must admit it is not the same 😦  Which brings me to how hard is it……not so hard!  The hardest is giving up some of my favs like yogurt and cheese, as well as grains like quinoa and oats.  Other than that I really haven’t had difficulty.  Of course I have been accustomed to clean eating for a long time which helped with the transition.  I have recently been enjoying banana soft serve or apple slices w/ nut butter for desserts so the sweet tooth has been tamed.  The fact that honey crisps are available now has really been a lifesaver!!

 

Can I tell a difference?  Heck yeah I can!  So can the hubster.  I do believe he made a comment yesterday about my tummy getting flat 🙂  Not only have I noticed a difference in the mirror, I can notice it in my clothes, my attitude, my sleep patterns, my energy levels, etc.  I have really improved in the past two weeks. 

  • 3 lbs. lost
  • 1 inch lost each in waist, hips, and thighs

Those are my physical results for the past two weeks.  I think it is a great start 🙂   How long do I plan to keep this up….well pretty much forever.  I mean when you are eating for your health you really do not have a choice.  I am sure I will indulge and treat myself on occasions.  Like with frozen yogurt, as long as it doesn’t harm me or make me sick.

 blog photos 1068

So this morning I treated myself to some pumpkin pancakes in celebration.  The pancakes are very simple, the treat was in the one spoon of maple syrup I drizzled on top 🙂

  • 1 small banana, mashed
  • 4 T pumpkin
  • 6T egg whites
  • 1t baking soda
  • sprinkle of cinnamon & nutmeg

Blend in blender, cook on medium low until done.  You have to cook paleo pancakes at a lower heat for a longer period of time since the combination of fruit/egg cooks differently.  The banana gives it just the right amount of sweetness!  I topped each with a little coconut butter and maple on top.

So here is to a great start, being healthy, and taking control of my life 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, favorites, Uncategorized

One response to “2 weeks in

  1. So glad it’s working for you! It’s a great feeling when you finally find what works for your body. I tried the coconut greek yogurt at Whole Foods last week too and it was so blah. Not the same as “real” yogurt at all.

Leave a Reply

