What I Ate Wednesday

Well I can’t really say that I have such a stellar post prepared to share with you guys this week.  I have been enjoying some new recipes, as well as some basic things that I usually eat (such as salads), but in all honesty I haven’t been photographing every little thing I have been eating.  Oh and I tend to be a creature of habit, which means I eat a lot of salads!!

 Spooky Snacks and Healthy Halloween Treats

But in honor of Jenn’s lovely party that she throws every week, I do have a few things to share with you guys.  Oh and before I forget one lovely little healthy fall treat 🙂

blog photos 1047 new camera 007

Breakfasts usually bounce between a two ingredient pancake or scrambled eggs w/ veggies & border sauce.

 blog photos 1057

Lunch is usually leftovers or some type of salad.  Mostly I tend to lean towards salads for lunch since they are super easy to pack!

new camera 011

For snack this week I have been enjoying my granola from Paleo People.

blog photos 1071

Dinner is always some type of protein with a yummy veggie or salad on the side such as baked chicken thighs and steamed cabbage.

   pie

But in honor of this months theme (as well as the fact that every girl needs some dessert in her life) I had to give in and come up with a healthy fall treat.  Boy am I glad that I did this.  You see I have been forgoing most any type of sweetness other than whole foods.  I have only used honey twice in a small little drizzle, and I have only had maple syrup once (teaspoon) on pancakes.  Now there is a very good reason why I have been saving myself for sweet enjoyment, haha sounds kind a crazy right??  But more on that later!  For now I have to share with you my lovely little version of Paleo Pumpkin Pie!!

   

  • 1 tbs. coconut oil, melted
  • 2-3 tbs. almond meal
  • 1 can pumpkin
  • 2 jars of banana baby food (2nd food jars)
  • 4 tbs egg whites
  • 2 tbs coconut milk
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  1. preheat oven to 350*
  2. put melted coconut oil in bottom of pie dish.
  3. sprinkle almond meal on top of oil and press until soaks up the coconut oil to make a “crust”  only use enough almond meal to cover bottom of dish.
  4. combine remaining ingredients in a bowl and mix together.
  5. pour into pie dish and bake in oven for 45-50 minutes

I used baby food in place of sugar to give this little treat some sweetness.  It is very safe to say that it is not as sweet as a traditional pumpkin pie, but it is sweet enough to be a dessert.  You could of course add a little honey or maple syrup to the recipe to sweeten it more, but I did not need any more sweetness added.  Oh and it is totally healthy, made with all whole foods, and you can eat it without any sense of guilt.  That is a win, win situation to me 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, DESSERT, DINNER, Fruit, lunch, WIAW

3 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. Paleo granola?! Maybe I could try paleo after all 😉 haha

  2. Mmm, that pumpkin pie sounds delicious!! I love all the ingredients.

Leave a Reply

