Confessions……

I suck as a blogger lately!  No really I do!  I have to confess to that.

Between work, kids, hubby I am sure that I am sucking at many things lately.  Now you may ask exactly why do I feel this way?

Because I haven’t pulled my camera out of it’s bag in weeks.  I haven’t photographed any pictures with it.  All photos from the past two months or so have basically been iphone photos!

Now while my phone does take nice pictures, it doesn’t hold a candle to the rebel.  Oh and I haven’t cared one iota what they look like.  A nice background?  A nice prop?  Nah not needed.  Just snap a pic and use it!

Then there is the sporadic posting.  Like this week, which in my defense has been CA-RA-ZY!! 

I promised a recipe post for yesterday.  Then an all day meeting was scheduled which means I didn’t post.  I am surely glad no one was depending on that for their life.  Because if they were then I would be responsible for the funeral bill!!

But no matter I am here today to confess my downfalls.  To attempt right my wrongs.  To give you a post, a recipe, and a taste of fasion 🙂

So enjoy this one, who knows when the next one will pop up!

I was so super excited Wednesday about a few things that I wanted to share with you yesterday.  If you follow me on instagram then you already know some of the excitement, but for those of you that do not I will fill you in!

blog photos 005

I ran my first 4 mile run without any walking breaks!  Now to many this may not be a big deal, but for me it was  a PR 🙂  Oh and the weather is perfect which is why I do not look the least bit sweaty!

blog photos 006

I found this little gem a my local farmer’s market.  So you say what is so exciting about fig preserves.  Well take a closer look……

blog photos 007

Yep, sweetened with juice!  The farmer’s market now has an entire collection of no sugar added jams.  I was so excited to find this, figs are my fav!!  Their collection includes apple butter, blueberry preserves, strawberry preserves, cherry preserves, apricot preserves, and apple!!  Nice collection if I say so myself!

blog photos 009

Of course this means that I has to enjoy it with breakfast the next morning.  Now for another very exciting discovery.  Gluten free, micorwaved “english muffin”!  I found this on  Carrots and Cake the other day, and was so excited to see it!  Oh and it is also paleo 🙂

Finally “bread” is back in my life!!  I have eaten this exact breakfast for two days in a row!

blog photos 004

In other happy news I have found a way to use my gluten free all purpose that isn’t so gross anymore.  I used it this past week as breading for my “fried” foods.  The hubster is in hunting season full swing which means lots o venison for me 🙂  He requested fried backstrap the other night.  So I obliged.  I cooked his the usual way, but for mine I used my gluten free all purpose, and I “fried” it in a couple tablespoons of coconut oil for a healthier version.  It was so good, I couldn’t really tell a difference between the two!  I also picked up a plantain to try it.  I basically sliced it and cooked in a little coconut oil.  I am not sure if this is the appropriate way to cook them, but they were very bland to me.  I didn’t care for it at all so if any of you have other recipes/ways to cook them please share!

blog photos 010

Today is dessert day at work.  We have a theme for every Friday from here til the holiday break, and today was desserts!  Of course part of me wanted to bring something healthy to share, but the old me had to have my fav.  Chocolate cherry cake with old fashioned fudge icing!  Holy sugar heaven!!

blog photos 008

I am having a fabulous soup for lunch today.  I had it for dinner the past two nights.  It was perfect to warm  me up after my 4 miler in chilly weather.  Which by the way my knees were bothering me so I am thinking it is time for new running shoes!  Also for those seasoned runners out there please give me tips.  How much do you stretch before a run, after a run, what stretches do you do, how do you warm up???  You know those types of things!

Fiesta chicken & vegetable soup

  • 2 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • bell pepper of choice, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1/8 teaspoon cipotle powder
  • 1 can rotel tomatoes
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 3 tablespoons (the kind in your silverware drawer not measuring spoons) of tomato paste
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 1 small head of cabbage, chopped
  • 1 bag frozen peas
  • 4-5 diced chicken breasts
  1. heat the oil in soup pot on medium heat, add onion and bell pepper saute for about 5-6 minutes
  2. add garlic and seasoning to veggies, stir to coat
  3. add tomatoes, tomato paste, and chicken broth – bring to boil
  4. add in cabbage and peas (or any veggies of choice this is what I had on hand) and chicken
  5. Simmer on low for about an hour, until all veggies and chicken is cooked.
  6. Serve with toppings of choice such as avocados, cilantro, sour cream, cheese, etc.

The idea of the soup came to me while talking to a friend about taco soup.  You see taco soup is a favorite of mine but beans are not my friend.  It is one of those foods that I have determined my body does not like.  I mean it goes beyond just the normal gas issues one has with  beans so we avoid those.  Also corn/beans are not allowed on the paleo diet.  So I decided to replace the beans/corn with other veggies, add chicken, and call it by a different name.  Similar to taco soup and takes care of that craving. 

So that about sums up my week in one long post!  Hopefully I can balance out posting next week.  I need to get back into the habit of drafting my posts on the weekends so all I have to do is touch them up and publish each morn.  I also have been contemplating a vlog lately.  I really enjoy watching you tube videos.  I have toyed around with the idea of doing one for the blog and starting a channel for all things that I love.  Some makeup videos, some fashion, and some cooking.  So tell me how you feel about that idea?  Do you enjoy you tube videos?  Is this something you would like to see on the blog, or would you rather read about the happenings on Helen, Naturally?  All input is welcome!

Have a super wonderful weekend!

2 Comments

Filed under baking, beauty, Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, DINNER, favorites, lunch, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Confessions……

  1. Missy

    Love that those jams are made with no sugar! I need to find some! The chocolate cake looks really good – I know they loved you for it!
    I love soup this time of year – that looks really good! I don’t get why “Paleo” doesn’t allow corn? Hasn’t it been around forever and been a staple of ancient diets? I don’t think I could give up my popcorn (air popped). It’s too good!!
    I love to watch vlogs, so go for it!

  2. I would love to see a vlog from you! I know I should do it too, but I’m so nervous.

Leave a Reply

