What I Ate…er drank

It’s beginning to feel a little like Christmas in these parts!  I am so excited about the lower temps, even if they are only around for 3-4 days.  The only complaint I have is that it is still not cold enough for me to light a fire in my fireplace 😦

Oh and I do not have hay fever.  Nope don’t have it!  According to Web MD one can not have hay fever if you have an actual fever???  I means what the heck, fever is in it’s name!  I will never understand the English language, or medical terminology, but the simple fact of saying I need to go home because I have a cold just sounds plain old dumb!  Who takes off of work for a cold??  Apparently people who work at school since we can’t be there with a fever.

What I Ate Wednesday Healthy Holiday Recipes

But let’s move on to something a little more interesting to talk about.  Like what I have eaten……er drank the past few days.  You see my eats are pretty darn boring lately.  One does not have an appetite when sick, but you throw in some cool weather to go along with that scratchy throat, and you surely have yourself a “winter drink” scenario!!

blog photos 008

I had some of my yummy fiesta chicken soup in the freezer form a few weeks ago so it has surely been on my radar the past couple days!  It is perfect for a cold, but also perfect since it doesn’t require you to cook when you feel like poo!

 blog photos 035  blog photos 047

Two of my favorite snacks have been back in my life lately.  Clementines and yogurt – and no not together.  Although they probably would be pretty darn tasty together!

blog photos 051 

But for the winner of my WIAW post………good ol’ hot chocolate!  Who doesn’t love hot chocolate?  It is perfect for Christmas season, perfect for cold weather, perfect for short days, perfect for rainy days, and perfect when you have a cold.  Needless to say I have had all of the above in my life this week so without a doubt it is the perfect, healthy holiday treat 🙂

  • 2 tsp. cocoa
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • splash of vanilla
  • tiny pinch of salt
  • whipped cream
  1. mix the cocoa and stevia in a cup
  2. heat the milk, salt, and vanilla on stove
  3. pour milk into cup and whisk until well bleneded
  4. top with whipped cream

Then you can go take a really hot & steamy bath —- uh no not for reasons you think, get your mind away from those types of thoughts —- so that way you can breathe a little while you sip and savor your hot chocolate!

Happy what I ate Wednesday to you all, and thanks a bunch to Jenn for hosting this great party every week!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “What I Ate…er drank

  1. Oh I hope you feel better soon! Not fun at all, but that hot chocolate does sound soothing. How did the yogurt make you feel after not having it for so long?

  2. Bless your heart hunnie. Hope you start feeling better soon!

Leave a Reply

