WIAW; is it a rumor??

It is still gloomy in my little corner of the world today.  My body is officially in sleep mode.  I am serious!  I really think that I feel so unmotivated to get up and go because I haven’t seen the sun in 9…….yep 9 whole days!!!!!

Rumor has it it will be sunny tomorrow.  Rumor has it that it will be sunny the remainder of the week.  This makes me happy, and I so hope that this is true because I can’t handle Lake Garner any longer.  There is nothing like wearing rubber boots just to get to your car for work!

Then of course there is the rumor of snow???  Yeah like that will happen!  Supposedly we will have a chance of flurries tonight around 11 or so…..well I will be sleeping so who cares.  That and it appears that the precipitation is moving out which makes snow pretty much impossible.  So I am going to go with rumor on this!!

Peas and Crayons

On  brighter note I have some yummy work day eats to share with you guys.  I promise these are true eats……not rumor! 

blog photos 054

I decided to put oats back into my life this past week/weekend.  It seemed to be a fitting time to do this since I have been seeing so many pics on instagram of oats.  So here are my lovely OIAJ (oats in a jar) that I enjoyed for breakfast.  Sadly my tummy felt bloated and yucky after I ate this.  I am not sure if I just am not digesting oats well making this a grain that I need to stay away from, or if it is possibly cross contamination of gluten since they are a store brand of oats??  I really want to give this a try in a few weeks with some gluten free oats, but I hate to shell out those kinds of bucks if it is my system not working well with the grain.  So they are off limits for the next few weeks while I clear the system!

 blog photos 053

Yesterday’s lunch was a yummy bowl of leftover chili, cornbread casserole, and cauliflower.  I made this for dinner on Monday night, along with a little treat in celebration.  I already had the chili frozen in the freezer so I whipped together the casserole and steamed the cauliflower to go with it.  I only had a small scoop of the casserole since it is made with Jiffy cornbread, and I knew that this would upset my tummy 😦

  • box of cornbread
  • 1 egg
  • 1 can cream style corn
  • 1 can whole kernel corn – drained
  • tsp garlic
  • tsp paprika
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese

preheat oven to 425*, mix all ingredients together in a bowl, pour in a baking pan that has been sprayed with non stick spray, and bake for about 20 minutes or so!

It is one of the hubster’s favorite dishes so I had to make it for him! 

My snacks lately have been really simple.  Usually a handful of pecans & raisins that I have mixed together in a little baggie at work, a clementine, a banana, or a small chobani on occasion.

blog photos 055

Then I made this!  I love hummus!  Now beans aren’t so great with my little system, but I tend to be able to handle a little of this ok.  I think it is mainly because it is a scoop of hummus with my veggies as opposed to a bowl of beans for dinner, but I love it so it is worth the tummy troubles!

I swear when I am older I will possibly not be able to eat anything at all!!  At leas that is how it feels when you deal with digestive issues.  Pretty much all of my favorite foods bother my tummy in some way 😦

Dinner last night was a bowl of ground beef and veggie soup, which I do not have a picture of.  No it is not because I forgot, I hated the pics.  They were horrible.  The lighting was bad, the color was totally orange, and it was just one of those situations when you would rather not have a pic than a really bad one.  Just to share with you it was a basic veggie and beef soup recipe, but I used browned ground meat as opposed to chunks of beef.

blog photos 052

Now of course I have to share this with you guys as well!  We had reason to celebrate Monday night, and so we opted to have another taste of it last night as well!  I still have to hold off a little on telling the news, but this recipe is to die for if you have a special celebration.  It is the Pioneer Woman’s knock you naked brownies.  Oh boy are they delish!!  If you want the recipe simply visit her site to get it, but I will tell you they are really rich and sweet so don’t try to go with your regular brownie serving size!

blog photos 056

And since I had some lovely gluten in my system yesterday, along with some sugar, I had to get things back to normal today.  With the oats issue those are out this week for quick breakfasts, so I went with a green monster.  This way I know my system will get the kick start it needs.  In the mix:

  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbs flax seed
  • 1 tbs peanut butter
  • handful of kale
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 scoop of chocolate protein powder
  • ice

It was super yummy.  Now you may be asking why only 1/2 scoop of the powder?  I put a few drops of stevia in the mix, then remembered that I needed to add protein since I didn’t use yogurt.  I didn’t want it to be too sweet so I only put 1/2 scoop in.  Yep, I’m a goober at times!!

What is your favorite mix for green monsters?

Oh and rumor has it that there is a fab link up WIAW party over at Peas and Crayons – Jenn is an awesome host, so head on over there to check it out!!

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DESSERT, DINNER, favorites, lunch, Uncategorized, WIAW

7 responses to “WIAW; is it a rumor??

  1. Kyra (Scribbles & Sprinkles)

    I love The Pioneer Woman! I watch the TV show and read the website 😀

  2. What a yummy day of meals 🙂

  3. You’re so silly! Everything looks great. I’ve wanted to try baking those brownies because my girls just love brownies. Thanks for the tip. I’m sorry you’re still having tummy troubles 😦

  4. Pingback: Mardi Gras – WIAW | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

