WIAW…hodgepodge of stuff

Hello my lovlies, how is your week going?  Mine, not to shabby I must admit.  I went for a little run yesterday (the first in a week or so), and the wind kicked my butt!!

It was definitely blowing because my pace was between 11-12 (usually have a 10 pace),  and I was so out of breath/exhausted that I stopped at mile two.  Of course the whole not running consistently lately is not helping matters.  So I am going back today!

Peas and Crayons

This week has been a hodgepodge of eats, with some yumminess all combined 🙂

Of course the only form of veggies I have had would be salads (which I love), but I am so ready for spring produce!!

blog photos 086

Breakfast was overnight oats with chia seeds, yogurt, stevia, almond milk, and blueberries.

blog photos 089

Morning snack is my new obsession – sweet potato with strawberry cream cheese laughing cow wedge melted in!  This combination is AH – MA – ZING!!!  Of course the cinnamon cream cheese wedge is yummy as well, and you would think it would be my fav since cinnamon goes with sweet potatoes – not the case.  I love the strawberry 🙂

blog photos 084

Lunch was spinach, apple, pecan salad with warm vinaigrette.  Love. This. Salad.  I simply toast the pecans in a pan on the stove, chop some apple for the mix, and throw in a soft boiled egg.  The dressing in a combination of 2 tbs olive oil, 1 tbs apple cider vinegar, 1 tsp dijon mustard, few drops of stevia – then warm it in the microwave before serving.

Afternoon snack was a Simple protein bar that I didn’t photograph 😦

But dinner was a splurge for sure……..

 blog photos 088    

The yumminess of fried backstrap, homemade gravy, and mashed potatoes!  This is totally a country girl weakness.  Now while there is not much country about me as far as likes/dislikes when it comes to clothing, fashion, outdoors, etc.  I am a sucker for some country food….oh and I do have my little accent as well, lol! 

The hubster was all about frying some backstrap for dinner last night.  So I went along with it.  With every intention of grilling a few pieces for me to go with my salad (which I did eat but un-pictured).  Yeah that was until I pulled the bacon grease (I know you health food diehards are cringing right now) out of the cupboard.  This was used to make a roux for the gravy.  Now let me tell you something – when you caramelize onion in butter (yep cringe again) for 15 minutes, add some bacon grease to the pan with some flour and beef broth…….THE  BEST GRAVY EVER!  I seriously could drink it.  Oh and you must, I mean MUST, use a cast iron skillet!  It is a key component as well.  So now that I have given you all a heart attack by just reading the words on this post – in my defense it was a small portion!  BUT I LOVED EVERY BITE!

p.s. – I had a biscuit too….gasp….

But onto something that will calm you down, make you smile, and get things exciting around here……this came yesterday!

blog photos 087

SIGH…..Sam Edelman wedges and BCBG heels.  I can’t wait for warm weather.  Oh and these are not the only things I have had delivered lately.  I promise a massive shoe haul is coming really soon!!

Now head on over to Jenn’s blog to see what is up with everyone else.  Oh and don’t forget to congratulate her for her little pea in the pod 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, FASHION, favorites, lunch, Uncategorized, WIAW

2 responses to “WIAW…hodgepodge of stuff

  1. that dinner seems like a “worth it” splurge! I love finding new combos like your sweet potato snack that end up tasting soo good! happy wednesday

Leave a Reply

