Random Eats

Hello my wonderful friends, how is your week going?  Mine is hectic as usual.  There are times when I sit and wonder what life would be like if my schedule wasn’t so hectic, I must say the thought is kind of frightening!

Peas and Crayons

But today is what I ate Wednesday, which will show you randomness from a hectic week.  I do believe that each photo was snapped on a different day over the course of the past week.  I had all intentions of documenting a full day of eats, only to get so busy that I would scarf down food without thinking about pics.  This seems to be the norm for me lately.  However, several of the meals/snacks have been repeated on different days so it could be very likely that both were eaten with a day.  Oh well we love randomness  right?

blog photos 092

I have the joys of waking up to the hubster cooking breakfast several times a week now with his new work schedule.  You see if it is his night off he is awake when we get up for school/work.  So he cooks our breakfasts for us while we dress, then cleans the kitchen, and once we leave he if off to bed himself.  He is such a great house wife husband.

 

blog photos 091

When the hubby is working he comes home in the mornings after we do which leaves us to throw together breakfast on our own.  I have been scarfing down ezekial cinnamon raisin toast with peanut butter like it is my J.O.B.!

   blog photos 093 blog photos 094

Or I may opt for a bowl of cereal with fruit if I could eat the bowl while driving!  It is usually so hectic trying to get the kiddos ready that I eat breakfast on the go.  I found the above cereal at my WalMart last week!  I was so super excited……see that ingredient list!  Just brown rice 🙂

Now I have to admit it doesn’t taste or have the texture of the usual brown rice krispie type cereal.  It reminds me of sugar smacks without the sugar.  It is lighter, softer, but oh so fun to eat.  Kohl loves it and guess what?  It cost all of one, yep ONE dollar!  I purchased two bags, lol!

blog photos 095

The other day I was really in the mood for a snacky type of lunch.  I didn’t feel like really cooking anything, I didn’t have any leftovers, and let’s face it I just wanted to snack.  So I made a snack plate with crackers/cheese, apple slices, and peanut butter!

blog photos 096

Now this first picture was the man’s meal!  He wanted a “steak sandwich” so that is what I gave him.  You simply slice up cube steak, season with whatever seasoning you like (we use cajun naturally), and throw it in a pan of butter to cook.  Not the healthiest but not the worst either.  I use real butter, none of the imitation stuff around here!

blog photos 097 

Of course this portion of the meal was the woman’s part!  I love salads.  In the mix is lettuce, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, peppers, and snap peas.  All topped with a local sweet onion dressing from our produce stand…………wow now my mouth is watering!

blog photos 090

Snacks have been a little more on the healthier side this past week that usual.  Except for the cookies and brownies (homemade), but in my defense I did eat smaller portions.  I have learned to only cook part of the recipe (place remaining batter in fridge) in order to help with portion control.  If  I only cook enough for the fam then I have no temptation to nibble again later 🙂

But I did make some healthy fudge this past week.  I have to make more tonight, I am already missing it!

  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/8 cup honey
  • 4 T cocoa powder (I use dark chocolate)
  • 1/4 t vanilla

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, place saran wrap in bottom of a small dish (I have a small square ramekin), and place in the fridge to set.  You have to keep this fudge in the fridge.

It is so good.  The original recipe called for 1/4 cup of honey as well, but I found the 1/8 cup to be perfect. 

blog photos 098

And now for my new obsession!  It is strawberry season here in Louisiana, yay!!  I have local berries in my fridge so I am a happy, happy girl.  This mix is so simple.  I placed a chobani coffee with dark chocolate chips in the freezer and topped with sliced strawberries.  The. Best. Dessert. EVER!!  It is a must try, trust me 🙂

Thanks to Jenn for hosting, have a wonderful Wednesday!

12 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DESSERT, DINNER, favorites, Fruit, Louisiana, lunch, snacks, WIAW

12 responses to “Random Eats

  1. omg I laughed so hard at how you crossed out house wife about your hubbie. Hilarious. I love ezekiel and pb toooo 😀

  2. I love randomness! Your dessert sounds so great, love that chobani coffee flavor!

  3. I hate when TV shows/movies have families sitting down together for a big breakfast before work/school, that always seems so unrealistic to me! Sometimes I barely have time for my own breakfast, so high five to you for getting two kids fed too!

    P.S. I am so jealous it’s strawberry season there! And crawfish too 🙂

    • Aww I wish I could get some crawfish to you! It is the perfect season to come for a visit!

      I agree with the family breakfast thing. without the hubby we wouldn’t eat anything other than cereal and toast, lol!

  4. Oh I love your dessert idea. So glad it is almost strawberry season! I totally freeze Chobani bites all the time 🙂

  5. I love Ezekiel cinnamon raison bread!

  6. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you
    wrote the book in it or something. I think that you
    could do with some pics to drive the message
    home a little bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog.
    A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

