Adventures in the kitchen

Happy hump day to you all!!  It is a very rainy, nasty Wednesday here in south Louisiana…..what else is new?

Oh the joys of living in the south!  As many of you know from yesterday’s post.  Thanks to all who responded, I really appreciate the help.  Of course today is my run day, which if the rain stops this afternoon it will be perfect because it has settled the pollen; however, the hubster has informed me it  is suppose to rain all day.  He is not my favorite person right now!

blog photos 112   

So are you wondering what my kitchen adventures are?  Yeah me too!  Haha, the hubster as you know has to stay up at night so he can sleep during the day for nights he is working……yeah does that make sense, his schedule is so confusing.  One night he sleeps at night, the next he sets an alarm for 1-2 a.m., the next her works all night.  His schedule is confusing, it exhausts me to keep up with it!

Now I am confusing!  I go from kitchen adventures, to staying up at night, to a crazy schedule……maybe I am a little ADD today??  So anyway like I said he is up at night.  Doing what?

blog photos 109

Watching infomercials!  then he swears that we have to by the latest, greatest thing.  I normally just nod my head and ignore him.  I finally gave in just once.  Hopefully this was not a mistake.  So I ordered this new super wave cooker that is basically suppose to work like a convection oven.  We shall see…..

blog photos 111blog photos 110

It surely is neat looking while cooking!  We had the package delivered yesterday so I threw in cinnamon rolls this morn just to use it.  We are going to roast a chicken in the thing this eve so I will have a better review on it tomorrow.  This baby is suppose to cook all sorts of ways…….bake, roast, broil, steam, air fry, etc.  Oh and it is self cleaning…love!!  At least I hope I do!  You see we hate using the oven in spring/summer because the house gets so hot with it on….gotta love the south!  We did have a small oven on the counter, but let’s get real – you can’t really cook a whole lot in those things.  So I am hoping this little baby becomes my new best “kitchen friend”.  Oh and cook times are basically less than regular oven, and meat doesn’t have to be thawed to cook 🙂

Peas and Crayons

But let’s get to the really important stuff ok!  What I’ve been eating!  I have really concentrated on my healthy foods the past few days.  You see I put on about five pounds over the last two weeks.  I know some of it is water retention/bloat, but let’s be honest – alcohol, sweets, and eating out takes a toll very quickly!’

 blog photos 104   

I am back to my old reliable oats with nut butter and fruit in the mornings for breakfast.  It is a trusty combination that I always turn to.  So easy and portable if need be.

blog photos 105

Snacks have been lot’s of boiled eggs, lol!  Thanks Easter bunny.  I did grab some celery and hummus this weekend so I have been enjoying that as well….oh and my trusty old yogurt.  Which I still have a lot of the flavored ones so I am trying to use those up in order to go back to my plain sweetened with stevia.  I gotta get some sugar out of my diet!

Lunches are always some type of leftovers or salads.  This lunch day was quinoa with steamed veggies (which I forgot to photo….epic fail), always a great fav as well.  It is so easy to throw this together for a quick and healthy lunch! 

blog photos 107

Dinner last night was chosen by the boys.  They wanted manwich, which makes me cringe, but I have to give them what they like.  So what is a mom to do when her goal is to incorporate more vegetarian dishes into meals?  Turn to the trusty Mama Pea!  I purchased her new cook book via iBooks so I was all ready to try out something.  I made the boys their manwich with ground meat as asked for, and this little mama had sloppy Josephines!  Which is basically using lentils in the place of the ground meat. 

blog photos 106

Let’s not forget the side salad.  Tons of veggies stuffed into this dinner!  Oh and I picked up a bottle of white truffle oil over the holiday at TJ Maxx for five books.  So. YUMMY!!

blog photos 108

Now I have to be reasonable with having dessert.  After all we eat at like 5-5:30 so I am totally hungry again before bed.  My sweet tooth is crazy lately because of all the Easter foods I have had, but I want to be more conscious of my foods.  So I opted for sliced strawberries with dark chocolate dreams nut butter.  Less sugar than Easter candy, healthy nutrients, and served as a great dessert!  I love strawberry season 🙂

So now the goal is to stay on track with this eating even through the weekends.  With the exception of some wine Thursday night.  The girl’s always attend our local wine bar’s wine tasting twice a month….it’s our girl thing, so I will still participate in it.  I am trying to stick to more wine when drinking socially than beer since beer tends to really, really bloat me.  That and the fact that good wines are made without added sugar!  The way I see it is if it is okay for me to eat a bowl of grapes, then I should be able to drink a glass of wine, lol!!

Have a great Wednesday, and do not forget to head over to Jenn’s to check out all the other WIAW posts out there!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, DINNER, Fruit, lunch, snacks, WIAW

Leave a Reply

