Whirlwind

What a week this is turning out to be!  I am only just scratching the surface of things to do to close out the school year, and it is already C-R-A-Z-Y!!  I hate to see what May will be like.

Peas and Crayons

As for work it is filled with meetings, paperwork, therapy sessions, more meetings, more paperwork, more therapy sessions…….that is just the basic stuff.  It doesn’t include all of the meetings and paperwork for evaluations that are being closed out at this time of year!  Then we have to close out files, progress reports, file, pack up rooms for summer cleaning, etc.   I tell you it is a joy ride, you guys should come and help me out!

blog photos 104blog photos 126

Luckily I have been eating lot’s of oat bran for breakfast to help power through the busy days!  I usually stick with my basic bowl cooked with mostly water/little milk, and top it with some peanut butter and fruit.  Which lately has been strawberries since they are in season.  Now the other day I had to have a little treat so I made banana whipped oats topped with chocolate dreams and one of Farrah’s super delish protein cookies crumbles on top!  Now that is a power breakfast!!

blog photos 106 blog photos 130

Lunch and dinner I will lump into one category because I usually have leftovers from dinner for my lunch the next day.  If I do not have any leftovers I typically throw a salad together or order out.  Which is almost always subway since I am limited to my options near work.  I have had some awesome dinners/lunches lately.  Now I almost always have a salad on the side of my dinner, but the main dishes have been the stars lately!  I told you guys last week that I was trying to incorporate more vegetarian meals into my diet in an attempt to get more veggeis/nutrients in.  I haven’t eaten all vegetarian meals, but I have had a couple that were awesome!

blog photos 129

The other day I was in the mood for enchiladas.  No apparent reason other than I just darn wanted one!  So that is what we had for dinner.  I made two pans (one for the boys, one for me).  My pan was made using Mama Peas roasted sweet potato and black bean enchiladas……holy yum!  They were amazing.  The best part – I only made half of the batch since I would be the only one eating them so I have the other half in the freezer for another day 🙂

blog photos 131

Now this little plate is actually a picture of my lunch, but I had the same for dinner.  Sweet potato fries, fruit salad, and the best BBQ tofu ever!!

  • 1 15 oz. block of tofu, drained, pressed
  • 1/2 t. garlic powder
  • 1/2 t. onion powder
  • 2 T. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 T. soy sauce
  • 2 T. water
  • 1 T. ketchup
  • 1/4 t. dry mustard
  • 1 t. lime juice
  • 1 T. liquid smoke
  • several drops of stevia
    1. In a large bowl, whisk together garlic and onion powders, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, water, ketchup, mustard, lime juice, liquid smoke, and stevia.
    2. Add tofu and gently stir to coat.
    3. Allow the tofu to marinate in the refrigerator for several hours or overnight.
    4. Preheat the broiler. Place the slabs of tofu on a baking sheet that was sprayed with cooking spray.
    5. Place your baking sheet under the broiler.
    6. Broil tofu for 5-6 minutes, then carefully remove the pan from the oven, flip the tofu, and place it back under the broiler for an additional 5-6 minutes.

Now I like to serve this on salads, in a stir fry, or just with a dipping sauce of your choice.  My typical go to dipping sauce would be spicy mayo made by mixing mayo with hot sauce.  I had all intentions of making this with the sriracha sauce that I received from Farrah, only to forget to mix some up before eating 😦  Oh well gives me another reason to make another batch 🙂

blog photos 128  

blog photos 105

Now my snacks have really been random lately with no plan, rhyme, or reason.  I usually like to plan my snacks as well as meals in order to avoid over snacking or poor snack choices.  However, with things so busy this week I haven’t taken the time to do this.  I have tried to keep them to a healthy level, but I have to be honest that some easter candy, gummy bears, and graham cracker snacks have made it’s way into my diet.  Not the best but not detrimental either. 

   blog photos 115 

I have mostly been snacking on the wonderful cookies that I have from Farrah lately, and I have to admit that I will be sad today because I will have the last one with my morning snack 😦  I am actually surprised they have lasted me this long, lol!

blog photos 127

Of course my weekend treat had to make it’s way into my life – frozen yogurt!  I love frozen yogurt, but I still try to save it as a rare treat.  The boys and I haven’t had any for a while so we went to get a much deserved treat on Sunday afternoon.  I had the chocolate cake mixed with coconut……OMG so good!  Topped with blueberries, coconut, a few cookie dough pieces, and some really yummy granola.

Unfortunately I haven’t followed my exercise plan like I had hoped to this week so that will have to be adjusted.  I was short one mile on Monday’s run and didn’t make it to the gym yesterday.  In my defense I had the hubster with me Monday which was fun.  He is not a runner, has only begun working out in the gym (he had a physical job before the new one so he didn’t work out), so we stopped at two miles.  He did great keeping up with me the two miles as it was so I didn’t want to push him to hard since he doesn’t have the endurance built up for long runs yet.  I am sure he will pass me soon if he continues to run with me! 

As for yesterday, I promised a friend that I would help her shop for decor for her baby girl’s 1st b-day party.  We had plans to go over the weekend, but something came up in her schedule so we had to go yesterday after work.  I opted to use this as an unexpected rest day, so I will have to just go with it.  Beside it was just to much fun to pass up shopping for a baby girl!!

So there is what I ate in my whirlwind Wednesday for this week.  I hope you guys are having a great week.  I have only one more day to work, taking off Friday, so I am excited for a long three day weekend.  I would like to thank Jenn for hosting the party, and remember to head over to her site to see what everyone is up too!

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, Fruit, lunch, snacks, Uncategorized, WIAW

5 responses to “Whirlwind

  1. Realizing you only have one yummy cookie left may be one of the worst feelings, ever! Ha Ha 🙂

  2. Yayy for oat bran! That stuff keeps me going for hours 🙂 Hope you can get some rest/relaxation this weekend!

Leave a Reply

