HN Meal Plan

How happy am I today about this weeks meal plan?  Super ecstatic!  Why? – there is so much produce available at our little market this time of the year, and I know it is only going to get better 🙂

I was lucky to score a HUGE head of cauliflower yesterday for like two bucks!  I mean this thing is big enough for at least two meals.  On top of that I was able to get zucchini, tomatoes, sweet peppers, onions, apples, bananas, grapes, corn, and a loaf of bread all for 20$!  Super impressed, and with summer right around the corner I know m0re is coming my way.

  • hamburger steaks with onion gravy, potatoes, corn on the cob.
  • grilled chicken, roasted cauliflower, turnip greens
  • lasagna, salad
  • make you own taco (salad)
  • pizza per hubsters request

Things are pretty low key on the food front this week.  Nothing super exciting as far as new recipes go.  I am trying to be more conscious of my meals in the sense of eating a larger variety of veggies/fruits.  I tend to get in a food rut around this time of year since we are limited to veggies during the winter & start of spring.  I eat veggies daily, but I usually stick with the same two or three every week.  This week I feel pretty good about my produce.  When I look in the veggie bin I can see white, green, red, orange, and yellow.  I love seeing my fridge so colorful!

As for the workouts this week:

  • run two  miles, stretching
  • lower body, cardio
  • run two+ miles, stretching
  • upper body, cardio
  • run two+ miles, stretching

Now I have a confession……I didn’t complete my planned workouts last week 😦  I started with my run on Monday, but I could feel a pull in my outer thigh area.  I am not sure the name of the exact muscle.  I just know that I had to push myself for the first two miles, then alternate walk/run after that so I stuck with just the elliptical for cardio.  I didn’t want to chance a major injury.  I am really not sure what happened as far as if it was due to improper warm up/stretching, the way I was running, or what?  Considering that I had so much on my mind with all the horrible news lately I know I wasn’t as conscious with my workout form.  I am pretty sure this is what is causing the issues.  So this week I have decided to spend more time stretching after workouts.  I always stretch, some days more than others, but since I have been wanting to start practicing yoga I figured actually listing it as part of my workout would get me closer to an actual yoga practice.  Well, at least that is the plan!

3 Comments

Filed under meal plans, Uncategorized

3 responses to “HN Meal Plan

  1. Love all the fruits and veggies right now. Are your running shoes fairly new? That’s the first thing I check when I get an injury. But, yes it could be all the stress from last week. Hoping for a better week for us all.

  2. Stretching and yoga makes such a different to how my body feels– hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

